-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On new presidents, patriarchal smugness and pony memories

Today I voted for the first woman president. It's still early. The polls have yet to close anywhere but I'm holding fast to my faith that this country will get it right and reject hate and fear.

C'mon, we've got this, right?

How crazy is it though--that it took this long to get to a woman in the Oval Office?

And can I just say I'm tired of my white male peers who keep giving me the 'hold my nose' vote line when it comes to voting for HRC? How effing condescending. I get it, you don't like her for (insert high-falutin' reason here). Whatever, but don't act like you're the hero here, begrudgingly giving up your "ideals". Your patriarchal ideals need to just sit down and shut up.

Ugh. It's going to be a long day isn't it?

This weekend we visited with P&B and R. R. was really glad to see us--the toys we brought probably didn't hurt. What's really interesting, however, is that she doesn't to talk about last weekend. When C. asked her about the pony at the hospital, she immediately got quiet and started staring off into space.

"She won't talk about it--not at school, not to anyone but us, really," P said as we ate dinner.

But then, about mid-way through our meal, R. suddenly started recounting the most harrowing moments of that day--the first few minutes when we thought she was choking.

"You came running down the stair and Uncle C. came running and Mommy said to call the doctor and Daddy picked me up and everyone was screaming," she said. She looked at each one of as she talked and P&B teared up while C. and I nodded and said "Yes, yes, that's what happened, exactly."

And then she was done talking about it again and we all moved on as best as we could.

I wonder how much she'll remember years from now. Me, I'll never forget, but I hope it eventually fades from her memory.

12:45 pm - 08.11.16

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

On entitlement and self-despair .... - 15.12.16 - 3:42 pm

Garden variety anxiety - 06.12.16 - 4:39 pm

Universe, can you just NOT right now? - 21.11.16 - 11:31 am

Ugh. No, seriously, ugh. - 16.11.16 - 4:17 pm

heartsick - 10.11.16 - 2:12 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

dirtyboots
dangerspouse
catsoul
raven72d
secret-motel
histamine
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
miralogue
ann-frank
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
mrs-roboto
nudeplatypus
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate