-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On entitlement and self-despair ....

One of my best employees is leaving at the end of the month (can't remember if I've written about it here or not; too lazy to look it up). Hired her replacement this week, which is awesome--I can't believe it only took a month to go through this process. In the past it's taken two months to fill a simpler job. Anyway, the fallout, however, is that one of the candidates who didn't get the job is now clearly pissed. He's a contributor I've worked with a lot. I reached out to him this morning to thank him for his time--he was one of only four who got an in-person interview (out of dozens of people)--and that I valued his work and was looking forward to continuing to work with him.

He responded by basically telling me 'yeah, no...after I file this next story I'm out.'

Jesus. The person we hired is immensely more qualified on many levels and I have always gotten the vibe from this guy that he just feels entitled to this kind of job. I've tried to work around that entitlement but I seriously don't have the patience anymore. Sorry, guy, don't let your bad attitude hit you on the way out.

Related: Today I interviewed for a teaching position at a local community college. My longtime mentor coached me extensively on the interview process and last night C. let me try out my teaching demo on him--and he didn't laugh once.

I think I did OK. It's nerve-wracking. There were seven people on the panel and I know I forgot many talking points that I wanted to include and I only made it through 2/3 of my demo (but was able to quickly transition to the end when the one-minute mark signal was given). I don't know, honestly. I left there feeling pretty good but have spent the rest of the day feeling my ego slide down a rabbit hole of self-doubt and despair--as it is wont to do.

I'll know next week if I get a second interview. and if I don't? Or if I do and I still don't get the job? Well, I vow not to be an asshole about the whole thing.

I mean, seriously.

3:42 pm - 15.12.16

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

Here we go - 16.01.17 - 3:14 pm

time to freak out - 06.01.17 - 10:28 am

Percentages and opportunities - 05.01.17 - 2:32 pm

Goodbye, 2016 - 30.12.16 - 3:32 pm

a virtual room of one's own - 19.12.16 - 3:19 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

histamine
secret-motel
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
raven72d
narcissa
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate