-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Politics, naps and other life-changing confusions

Wow, what an exhausting two weeks it's been. Between the new job and the new presidential administration (I CAN, NOT, bring myself to put the word "President" next to his name. I just CAN. NOT.) I find myself living in one of two states: GO GO GO GO and STOP OH MY GOD I NEED A NAP RIGHT NOW.

The new administration is upsetting me, angering me, freaking me the hell out. The march was great but obviously it is, literally, just a step in the right direction. Now we must continue with calling our representatives, making donations, showing up for meetings, supporting candidates at the state and local level and generally just helping and protecting those in need.

Elsewhere my time is spent frantically trying to catch up on this semester. I have an office, but I don't have a desk or an office key so I spend my time between classes shuttling from spot to spot to find a moment of quiet when I can work and catch up. Between that and still working for the paper I'm putting in 12-14 hour days. I guess that would explain why I'm so tired once I allow my body to relax. Like, every time I allow myself a nap I sleep so hard that I wake up confused, unsure what day it is.

I know it will get easier....but, until then....

It's weird not being in the newsroom full time right now but being in the classroom is good. I hope that I'm reaching students--either way I know they're reaching me. I work on such a diverse campus. In class the other day as we discussed state-run media vs a free press, one student, who came here from Turkey, told us about his media experiences there. I have students of all backgrounds, ethnicities and religions in my class. I wish the people leading today's top government office would stop for a moment and listen to such voices. It might make a difference.

1:43 pm - 28.01.17

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

No. 7 is OK, I guess - 25.07.17 - 8:38 pm

hello, is this thing on? - 14.07.17 - 3:21 pm

Work, work, work, work, work, work - 09.07.17 - 8:09 pm

everybody's hustlin' - 19.03.17 - 3:24 pm

But, nope .... - 22.02.17 - 9:05 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

histamine
secret-motel
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
raven72d
narcissa
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate