-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

work, work, work

I hope the weekend didn't overwhelm too much. More and more I hate overscheduling things--or even just having more than one hard and fast obligation in a given weekend.

Right now I'm particularly cranky because I found out that my niece's birthday party has been scheduled for 10:30 a.m. next Sunday. I found out via text from my brother--this after the date changed several times. No formal invite, which I guess is fine, but getting the time only a week before is more than a little aggravating. I always have too much shit going on and knowing things like times is pretty important. Also, 10:30? Seriously?

On a different I've always been so envious of those who can take time to work for free. A lot of my grad school friends did that. Had partners who could pay the bills while they just wrote and wrote and wrote. And many of them got book deals. They did this during grad school, too, as I hustled my commute and full-time job. I can't even imagine what that would be like. I've literally had a job since I was 16. The summer after my sophomore year of high school my grandparents dragged me around town to find a job. I took the first thing offered, a horrible fast food job, and my mom and grandparents took turns driving me and picking me up. I kept working when school started up again and really never looked back.

I feel like RIhanna's "Work" is my personal mantra and I don't really know if that's a good thing. To be certain I inherited my dad's workaholic tendencies...which just makes me worry that I also inherited his disconnect from reality, his inability to sustain meaningful relationships. How many wives is it now? I think four. At least I've only had two and one is still going, so there's that.

P.S. DO NOT GUILT YOURSELF FOR READING. Reading is so essential and I love to know you're getting a few precious moments to yourself. You may not have a full-time out-of-the-house job but I know you work hard, thank you very much. xoxo


7:59 pm - 18.09.17

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

So that's that. - 27.09.17 - 9:31 pm

bring your own lampshade, somewhere there's a pity party - 26.09.17 - 6:25 pm

autumnal malaise - 25.09.17 - 7:10 pm

in which i hate feeling as though i'm not acing this thing - 22.09.17 - 6:11 pm

We all float on - 20.09.17 - 10:14 am

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

histamine
secret-motel
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
raven72d
narcissa
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate