-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

so this (will be) the new year...

It's Halloween which, to me, marks commencement of the Holiday Season and thus, commencement of The Year in Review...it's that time when I start to realize that oh-hell-the-year-is-almost-over-and-what-do-I-have-to-show-for-it?

And today, when I think about it, I'm bewildered.

I have a lot to show for it and yet...and yet not much.

There is the house, of course. And we're doing work on it right now which feels amazing because here is this big expensive thing that we paid a lot of money for and after four months it still doesn't feel like home. But with the bits and pieces we've done in the last week, it's creeping more towards giving me a familiar feeling and I'm very excited about the fact that we're putting hardwood floors in the office (the last carpeted hold-out) in the house as well as built-in bookshelves and it will hopefully look more like an office and less like that place where I just dump papers and books.

And there's talk of painting the outside of the house next spring - maybe something in a light pink or pistachio green - something very '50s and fun but not too overbearing.

But there are other things that leave me feeling, well, feh. I've been writing, but not much and not like I thought I would. Aside from The Project, I haven't spent any time on short stories or novels and after two-and-ha-half years of nothing of spending almost all my free time writnig short stories and bits of novels, it's jarring to suddenly realize I haven't produced a word since graduating.

At first I told myself I needed a break (and I did) and then there was the house-buying which was extremely time-consuming and exhausting and then it there as the moving-into-the-house and then it was hot and then there was the getting settled-into-the-house and then before you know it it's nearly Nov. 1 and I've hardly even written here much less worked on any fiction or essays.

I feel like something has to change but it's Oct. 31 which means the holidays are poised to rush in and disrupt everything. So hello 2006, here's looking at you. I hope it proves to be a more balanced year.

12:10 pm - 31.10.05

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate