-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i'm much too young for this nostalgia

I have a ton of work today but I'm feeling really nostalgic. I think it's the return of summer. The sun. The heat. The warmth on my skin.

Tonight I want to go over to the new house and water the flowers and let the new-ness of it all soak in. I want to feel this place in the summer because then I will truly feel like it's mine.

I want some good things. I want to get ice cream cones. I want a drive out to nowhere. I want to play the stereo really loud. I want cool early mornings that will burn off into almost unbearably hot afternoons. I want beer over ice with lemons. I want frozen raspberries. I want an afternoon nap with GB that might turn into something else. I want the cool open breeze through the window when I sleep.

I just want summer.

I'm a winter girl at heart but there's still something about summer that makes me happy. And, perhaps it's strange to say but I associate that feeling with GB. We met while it was still winter but we moved in together a few weekends before the start of summer and memories from that first hot season together are still some of my favorite: sleeping on the living room floor during those stifling August nights because we'd yet to figure out how to adequately cool off our air-conditioner deprived house; walking down to the ice cream parlor -even that time I dropped my double scoop strawberry-chocolate; the concerts down at the river; the hottest night of the year at the club's biggest show of the year = too much body heat; bbq's at friends' houses; Gigi's wedding and getting drop-dead drunk at the reception and dancing (badly) to Abba; the housewarming party with me in my blue dress and him in his Western shirt and us posing in cowboy hats for goofy pictures; the State Fair photobooth strips; lying in bed on a Saturday afternoon and listening to the stillness of everything.


It's officially 19 days away but happy summer y'all.

1:20 pm - 06.02.05

sounds: j*hnny Cash
words:
i am: feeling wistful

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate