-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

nothing lost, nothing gained

School started this week and I'm probably happiest about this because it means cold, hard cash.

After a summer of partial unemployment I am broke, broke, broke.

OK, I still have money in my money market account but I really don't want to touch that anymore than I have (and believe me, it's been touched this summer--oh how it's been touched).

This is how broke I am: If not for my bank's courtesy overdraft payment plan I would have bounced my first-ever check. The bank kindly paid it--then slapped me on the wrist with a $26 fee.

Stings. Especially because it only happened because I got the date wrong on a payment--I thought the payment would be deducted the same day my paycheck was deposited. Nope, a day earlier.

Sigh.

So, was all this broke-ness worth it?

I keep telling myself that it is. I've been working on a book for the last year with my friend A. We were on our high school newspaper together and ever since then we have joked that, someday, we will rule the world together.

Last year we finally decided to put the plan in motion.

I have no idea what will happen with our little baby but I made a choice to only work part-time this summer so that I could devote more time to it.

We finished a draft and then, after a marathon writing/brainstorming session we crafted ideas for more than a dozen new scenes. All of these still need to be written but the idea is to have them done, along with a book proposal, by the end of September.

Not sure how I will fit it all in now the the semester has started but luckily only one of my classes requires real prep/grading.

And GB has been so supportive. As I fretted over bills today he told me that the idea was that all this money-scrimping would eventually pay off. Literally.

Here's hoping. It's either that or picking up a part-time job at Starbucks next summer.

Then again, I love coffee and it's an expensive habit so that's not necessarily a bad thing.

Kidding universe--I'd definitely choose the book deal over the free iced coffees.

6:29 pm - 27.08.10

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate