-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

closer to fine

So, back at work after approximately 10 days off...and of course that's always fun, trying to catch up and all. Factor in that there were some major staff changes in my dept. during my absence--staff changes that have led my co-workers to refer to the shift as "Black Thursday"...eeeee....yeah, fun.

The bottom line for me is that I have a new boss, yet again. Only this time my new boss is my old boss - the boss I had who went on maternity leave in Feb. This is fine with me although I really liked New Boss (as opposed to New Old Boss who replaced Old Boss and made my life hell for three hellishly hellish life-is-hell months)...Gah -- does any of that even make sense? Probably not...just be assured that it's all very chaotic over here in Shivers Work Land....

I really wish I didn't have to work at all during the month of Dec --despite having all of last week off, I still have oodles and oodles of things to do...my to-do list is getting longer not shorter, despite my most valiant efforts. Right now I'm trying to arrange a covert meeting with a friend's father ..sounds naughty, but it's not...he's got season tickets to the local basketball team and is selling a pair for a January game against the Cava1iers...so I thought it'd be fun to surprise the spouse with tickets for Christmas...i'm not exactly sure how good the seats are--it's hard to get an idea from the seating chart, but the price is right enough to make the gamble (although by buying them, I'm going WAY over our self-imposed spouse gifts limit...especially since I'm still giving him the stuff I bought before deciding to buy these tix)....in any case it should be fun to watch LeBr0n James in action...

Other than for GB, I've barely done ANY holiday shopping. OK, NONE...this is so bad. I just haven't had much time (even last week, although I did try to find some stuff without any luck)...I guess I need to start making up for lost time and quick. But tonight or tomorrow night I must make a cake for the class potluck...how does cranberry orange bundt cake sound to you?

Speaking of class, yesterday was my graduation reception and the champagne and cream puffs were wonderful...the whole ceremony was quite lovely except for the fact that the special guest speaker didn't show up....she's one of the English profs here and no one is quite sure what happened--if she just forgot or....or what? If she forgot, well...wow, that's pretty bad.....oh well, it was still nice. Cream puffs and champagne are a nice combination. Afterwards we -my mom, GB and I - went out for Thai food and talked and it was all pretty nice especially considering how stressed out I was about the idea of hanging out with my mom for that long (9 hours to be exact). Certainly the At1van I took before we picked her up helped...but she also didn't make any passive-aggressive remarks (at least not aimed at me), so I did fine. She did fine. We all did fine.

OK, back to work...

P.S. I really wish I could afford a personal chef during the month of December - just to ensure that I partake in more than sugar, bread, coffee and booze during this hectic holiday season...

3:57 pm - 12.06.04

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate