-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2007 - maybe the clouds will roll away

I'm even later to the party than Myra-Lee, from whom I stole this survey (An aside: It has been, approximately, one gazillion years since I last did a survey).

1. What did you do in 2007 that you'd never done before?
I had to think long and hard about this one. I didn't really do anything earth-shaking except for hang on to my wits for dear life. But, I did apply for a teaching job (which I got!) - never done that before, I guess.

2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I can't remember last year's resolutions but I'm guessing they were close to this year's: Be more financially prudent, be fit, etc. This year I resolve those things but also to just be nicer, more open to people and ideas.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
No. Some casual friends had kids, but no one really close to me.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No. Thank goodness.

5. What countries did you visit?
Well, this depresses me. Does Reno, NV count? Boo.

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?
More time. More fortitude. More sleep.

7. What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory?
New Year's Day - the so-called Launching Day when we threw our halloween pumpkins (each etched with Sharpie-ed messages of hopes for the coming year). It was frosty and cold and C. & I were emotionally exhausted from both a New Year's Eve AND New Year's Day fight. It kind of set the tone for the whole year. Not in a good way.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Getting through it with my sanity.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Losing my shit on more than one occasion. But that's what happens when your husband hates his job and is depressed and your job is pissing you off and two of your best friends are getting a divorce and your cat is suddenly very sick and needs a pacemaker.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
I had a severe case of bronchitis that lasted about six weeks.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My cat's pacemaker.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My cat. She takes a licking and keeps on ticking. No, seriously -- for a cat who's suffered, among many other ailments, heart failure, she's such a good-natured sweetie. Also: My husband for working hard on figuring out his own shit and helping me keep mine together.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Often mine. Sometimes some of my co-workers. Always Britney and Paris.

14. Where did most of your money go?
A feline pacemaker and all of its resulting expenses.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
A healthier cat, a decent raise, strengthened friendships. My new bike. Oh, and seeing my guilty pop pleasure Justin Timberlake in concert.

16. What song will always remind you of 2007?
"Silver Lining" by Ri1o Kiley. "Impossible Germany" by Wilco, "Jacqueline" by The Coral.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
Happier. I feel as if I've weathered a storm. It's not that I think life is going to get infinitely easier from here on out, I just think somehow I know I can deal with whatever's thrown my way.

b) thinner or fatter?
Uh, fatter. Five pounds fatter. Actually, it's my typical, post-holiday weight gain and I'm working on it.

c) richer or poorer?
I think I've maintained - despite everything - some sort of finanical equilibriium.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Exercised, read, meditated, zoned out.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Worrying.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Christmas was its usual whirlwind between families.

22. Did you fall in love in 2007?
Yes.

23. How many one-night stands?
Just the one, over and over again.

24. What was your favorite TV program?
Lost. And The Office. And Ugly Betty. I should probably add TV to the "done less of" category.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
No. Thank goodness.

26. What was the best book you read?
"No One Belongs Here More Than You" - Miranda July. I also really enjoyed "The Time Traveler's Wife" although it defintely had some guilty pleasure aspects.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
The Coral - I know, I know ...where have I been? Also, the Frames

28. What did you want and get?
A healthy, heart-beat happy cat.

29. What did you want and not get?
Answers to everything.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
"Once" and "Juno"

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
The night before we had a party which was really a Christmas party and then on the actual day I was so exhuasted we didn't do anything. But last night we went to a basketball game and C. bought me my pizza as my "birthday dinner" (my suggestion) and then my team won in a last-second buzzer beater and that was pretty awesome. Oh, and as if I'm telling you how old.

32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Ummm....more time and more, better-quality sleep.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?
Jeans, boots and varying degrees of tops, sweaters, hoodies. Occasional vintage dresses. Sometimes, also, Converse or my favorite skirt. Pretty casual.

34. What kept you sane?
The spouse, my best friend. My family.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Mmmm....I think I feel silly answering this question but oh, OK, Matt Damon is still my secret boyfriend. He's just a swell fella. And I know this cuz I actually met him once and drank cappucinos with him. So there.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Abortion and immigration.

37. Who did you miss?
My friend J.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
I don't know if I met anyone new that really made that big of an impact but I'll tell you this much: I learned just how much I truly love my friends.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007:
It sounds cheesy - and like a Roxette song - but: Listen to your heart.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
I'm going to echo Myra-Lee's Wilco entry:

Maybe the sun will shine today
The clouds will roll away
Maybe I won't be so afraid
I will understand
Everything has its plan
Either way

2:56 pm - 15.01.08

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate