-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

just add water, i'm disappointed...

From the things-that-depress-the-hell-outta-me files:

So, last year right before school started, Cupcake e-mailed me and said she was living in Oakland for the summer...well, I was a bit bummed that she'd waited until AUGUST to tell me this but then again it wasn't like I was bombarding her e-mail box or voice mail..so I let it go.

Then there was a bit of a blow out as we experienced some miscommunication and, as a result, hurt feelings. There were accusations, on her part, of me not being a good friend and her being disappointed. I told her I was disappointed too - that she would jump down my throat because I didn't show up for a date that we had never actually confirmed...anyway, we finally met up and we got over it and we got all gushy about what great friends we were and how the anger and disappointment came out of missing one another and then we made a date to meet again for lunch in two weeks. She put it in her Palm Pilot.
I watched as she tapped it in, smiling when she looked up at me with those devilish hazel eyes and feeling giddy because I had my Cupcake back - somebody who, since the minute I met her at J's house seven years ago, was one of my nearest and dearest friends.

As we got closer to the two-week date, I e-mailed her to confirm the time and place. No response.

I called her voice mail.

No response.

The day came and went. As did the day on which I knew she'd be leaving once again for LA (and grad school).

I e-mailed her again. It bounced back.

I tried calling her voice mail. It was disconnected.

And that was last I heard of her until November when her boyfriend sent out a mass e-mail for an art show she was having in LA.

I was angry when I saw that e-mail. I ignored it.

(By the way, I did not try calling her again A) because I was upset and B) because the only number I had for her was her cell phone number - the one that was now disconnected. She had told me she'd have a new cell phone & a new land line number after she moved back to LA)

And that was the last I heard of her until yesterday when I got one of those Friendster invites - one with her name on it.

I opened the e-mail, hit the link and swallowed.

Yup, it was Cupcake.

I hesitated and then accepted the invitation to be her "friend".

Then I read her profile - oh look, she's living in the Bay Area for the summer again.

I e-mailed her yesterday:

so, you're up here again?

No response so far.

What great times we live in....I'm so glad that Friendster seems to have replaced the trouble of having to actually be a friend....

12:21 pm - 07.10.03

sounds: N*rthern State
words: A.M. H0mes
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate