-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

free to be you and me

In some ways i am feeling better about school this semester - even though it is an awful lot of work, taking 2 writing workshops is kind of brutal. But the writing seems to be happening and I've officially started work on my thesis which is both exhilarating and intimidating.

Still, there are still things that sometimes bother me. But maybe I'm just close-minded. Maybe, but last night's workshopped story that was a 17 page (single-spaced) compilation of e-mails that stemmed from the workshopper's fake CraigsList post about his disabled cat was just too much. I mean, sure he really built a "character" with Susan as he wrote all these e-mails pretending to be her and responded to all the real replies. Sure, parts of it were funny. It certainly cracked him up as he read the whole damn thing aloud.

Sure, most people in the class seemed to think it was great - you could do your entire thesis like this said the professor.

Yeah, sure he could.

I, for one, found it excrutiating. I know I'm not the only one. Was it just me, or was that really painful? one woman whispered to me as we left class. By page five I was just jabbing my pencil lead into my forehead she said.

But then again, I - we - may just be close-minded.

Arg.

Anyway, this weekend I will work on my workshop submission (due next week) and doubtless there will be those who hate it and you know, whatever because this is an experimental fiction class and if I wanted to turn in a 17-page, single-spaced grocery list - I could.

Heh. Who knows. Maybe I will.

12:41 pm - 02.26.04

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate