-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

starting to sound like a funeral around here

Saturday, finally. Emotional rollercoaster of a week.

Monday: Laid off. Numb, numb, numb. Also my mom's 60th birthday. Drank lots of wine at her party.

Tuesday: Had to go back to work (I'm there for - ugh - two more weeks). Everyone was so kind and offering so much help (and a free lunch) that I almost felt chipper.

Wednesday: Suddenly, not so chipper. Very emotional. Crying. Had to leave work early.

Thursday: Better - but definitely took a long lunch. Assured by boss that my remaining work input was expected to be minimal.

Friday: Still a little emotional - especially when senior boss praised my last article during daily stand-up. I appreciate the sentiment but it's starting to feel like a funeral around here.

Friday night: Hung out with friends. Much booze was consumed.

Saturday: Worked on resume and compiling PDFs of clips. Screamed at the computer a lot.

Things that made it really really really hard: Being the only writer in my department to be let go. (Explanation: Something to do with actual job classification that pitted me against other writers in other departments).

Being told that I was "wonderful" and had a "great job performance" in the last year and that they want me back so, "please sign the rehire list." Nice words, yes but when you're clutching the white packet they sound very very hollow.

Things that made this week easier: All the people who came forward and offered words of cheer or who were angry on my behalf. Or who offered contacts. Or bought me coffee. Or just gave me a hug. Thank you.

So, two more weeks there - then on payroll til May 9. Then I get a severance package (20 weeks) + nearly four weeks of vacation to cash out.

Also: Unemployment benefits.

Also: Can get on C's health insurance.

In short, things could be a lot better but they could also be a lot worse.

I am looking forward to starting on my list.

8:34 pm - 14.03.09

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate