-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the more i try, the more i give in

note: this entry has been updated -- now with 50 percent more bitching and moaning!


it's going to be an odd Christmas.

I have to work Christmas Eve which means we can't spend time with my family because this is the first year in 10 years that they've decided to go out of town to my aunt's house to celebrate. My mother wanted me to guilt some poor co-worker into trading days but since I've had two weeks off at Christmas last year that wouldn't really be fair of me. So, she's trying to plan something for the Sunday after Christmas, but that's the day of K's annual holiday party, so I'm trying to juggle it with that. On Christmas day we're going to GB's mom & stepdad's house. Only his sister and her family won't be there like they usually are. BUT, they might be at his grandmother's house this Saturday, which is when we are celebrating Christmas with her. Oh, and his dad and stepmom might be there too, but we won't know until that day. I guess I should count myself lucky that BioMom & my stepdad are in Texas and my father doesn't speak to me anymore.

It all really makes me long for the time when it was me, my brothers and my mom and dad (up until I was about 12) and we all opened presents on Christmas Day at home and I was bored by 1 p.m. and that was that.

.

My head is just spinning with holiday festivities. Indeed I feel nauseous. We're not even close to finishing our shopping, I've been on a baking whirlwind with no end in sight and our holiday cards are just staring at us, giving the old evil eye.

Today at work we're "celebrating December birthdays" (oh thank you for this stale piece of Costco chocolate cake with lard frosting), which is code for "we've got some big news to lay on you and want to force-feed you sugar first in order to better make the medicine go down" because the last time we had a monthly birthday cake celebration was the last time there was a major department change.

oh, and Thursday is the office holiday potluck. May the bacon & mushroom debates be gentle this year.

12:17 pm - 12.16.03

sounds: the disti11ers
words: zines and comics
i am: contemplating Christmas

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate