-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it's only a hit and run after all...

Why do I even bother trying to figure anything out before I�ve had coffee? Really it�s a futile task.

Today: my eyes hurt like hell (why does my eye doctor � sorry, can�t spell the long-ass fancy word for this right now, requires too much thought � insist that my eyes are fine? Just �eye strain� she says.) my head hurts like hell (allergies) and I�m really tired (but then again, I�m always tired).

Last night I got to meet my first Diaryland acquaintance ever � the lovely allmadhere (and her friend M.). And yes, in case you were wondering I was a total dork and felt shy and awkward because that�s the way I always am when I�m around new people even people I kind of �know� through Diaryland.

Bah, sometimes I really annoy myself.

But that aside, she was quite nice and it sounds like a fun trip they are taking and I envied their upcoming journey to the beautiful Mt. Shasta�.

GB is out of town today and tonight � I will treat myself to a super-large, extra-strength coffee and perhaps a scone and then sit down at the computer (oh my god, I almost typed �typewriter� � I do have a lovely manual typewriter that mom gave me when I was in high school � which I used to write my first poems on � but the keys stick and when it comes to the actual act of typing - i.e. no back / delete key, well I suck, I suck bad) and write write, rewrite, revise and proof.

And blast the music or M2 really loud.

Can I just say what a geek I am? I love having MTV2. The feeling it gives me reminds me of when I was in junior high and I so badly wanted us to get MTV like all the other kids (this was when you could opt out of having it as part of your basic cable package � which really worked out with my mother who believed �and probably still does to this day - that MTV would rot my soul from the inside out).

Now I get to sit in front of the TV � often while I�m doing other stuff (bills, magazine flipping, etc) and catch cool videos (Luna, Replacements, Onelinedrawing, Ben Kweller, White Stripes, etc) �it�s like sound/vision therapy.

Oh, and in addition to being a geek, I�m sure she thinks I�m a total bitch.

My friend S. from the Hipster Dance Night sure did (kind of jokingly � �what�s with you Shivers Girl � you used to be a person for the people!�) when I related this incident to him via e-mail this morning.

The scene: me, GB, her and her friend sitting in a booth at the Club.

GB goes to the bathroom. The rest of us keep talking. A few minutes later I feel a gigantic thud as someone sits down next to me � no make that practically on top of me. I turn around and see a Frat Boy-looking guy.

Frat Boy: Hey there � how�s it going

Me: great � but my husband�s sitting there , he�ll be back in a minute.

FB: No he�s not

Me: Um, yes he is.

FB: Well, I�m just warming it up for him.

Me: Um, no you�re not

FB. Yeah I am � he�s not here.

Me: He�ll be back in a minute.

FB: I know, but I�m just gonna sit here

(mind you, not only was he sitting there � in this booth � we weren�t at the bar, but he was practically sitting on top of me � serious body contact).

Me: You�re not sitting there � my husband is sitting there

FB: I�m just warming it up for him

Me: No you�re not � you�re going to move or else I�m going to call the bouncer over.

And that was that, he turned around and left without another word. I told GB about it and he was amazed at how bitchy I was (not in a bad way, but still kind of amazed � then again, he should know me better) but then laughed when he saw the guy later standing at the bar.

Eh, whatever. Bitchy. A bitchy geek. Whatever. I suppose I could�ve been nice but then again he could�ve been more polite.

Damn, it�s 11:15 a.m. and I haven�t done a lick of work yet. I guess I better get on that and all�

12:04 pm - 09.25.02

sounds: Sondre Lerche - Faces Down
words: Doris Lessing - the Fifth Child
i am: bitchy, a geek, tired....take your pick

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate