-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

not so hot for teacher

So, yes, the glow* of my first semester of teaching is decidedly gone

This semester, instead of teaching English 302, Advanced Composition and Critical Thinking to a bunch of over-achieving high school juniors and seniors, I am teaching English 300, Composition, to a group of adults whose motivations range from "I like to write, help me write better" and "I have to take this class" to "Do you mind speaking more softly so that it's easier for me to sleep during your lecture."

I started the class off with 25 registered attendees and quickly added nearly 15 more - as many people I could fit per seat.

Now, three weeks in, we are down to 29. Actual attendance, however, hovers more closely to the 20-25 mark. The girl who called me up practically crying because she needed this class on a life-or-death basis has now missed three classes in a row.

Is it something I've said? Something I've done? Not said? Not doing?

It's been so bad at points that I actually went back and checked the course description the college e-mailed me to make sure that, you know, I had made preparations for the right class.

Frankly I am almost at the point of not caring.

I know that sounds horrible but consider the evidence in the case of Shivers v. Students

  • Listening, or lack thereof. Have noted a significant lack of listening in class. Yes, said class is at the ungodly hour of 7:30 a.m. but I'm there, I'm awake so at least try to fake it. When I repeat an assignment three times and give you a handout, do not tell me during the next class period that you had no idea what was going on. When I place you into groups and ask three times (maybe four? I lost count) to make sure everyone is in a group do not sit there with that blank expression on your face and then, when I ask you why you are sitting there by yourself now that the rest of the class is grouped off, please do not for the love of the Sweet Baby Jesus tell me it is because you do not have a group thus causing this exchange of dialogue:

    Me: Did you raise your hand or speak up when I asked if everyone was in a group?
    Blank-faced student: No
    Me: Why not?
    Blank-faced student: (Silence shrugs)

  • Materials. There is a reason why you have assigned books in this class - you are supposed to buy them, use them and bring them to class.
  • Due dates. Assignments are due on their due dates. Come prepared, have them done, printed out, etc
  • Attendance - is kind of important. Lateness is rude. Especially when you saunter in 30 minutes late and then expect me to catch you up. Not.Going.To.Happen.
  • Attention - open your eyes, take out the ear buds, stop checking e-mail. Now.

Sigh. I know I vent, I know I may even sound like the mean old bitch I fear that I've become. There are some good apples in the bunch - quite a few actually. There are students who raise their hands every class period, who make an effort to participate and think and explore ideas. I love these students with a passion - it's OK if their writing is still weak, that's why they are here. I can tell they care and therefore I care.

Those who don't care or who, at the very least, act as if they don't, are going to be the death of me yet.

*If by "glow" you mean panic attacks, endless and endless lecture cramming, sleepless nights and other odd bits of fun

1:46 pm - 09.02.09

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate