-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

heartache in the house of home

I don't know why exactly but I feel really down today. I think it's the whole money / house-buying thing. At least that's a big part of it. It's been nice not having a stretched budged for the last year or 2 and I'm really not looking forward to the prospect of serious penny-pinching once again. I know it's a necessity, but I don't have to like it. But even worse I don't know what kind of house we're going to be able to afford. I wish I'd had my shit together three years ago and bought a house then. We'd be sitting pretty on a cheap mortgage payment and tons of equity. Oh well. Blah.

Another thing that added to this increasingly heavy house-related feeling was my step-father-in-law trying to tell us that we should just get an interest-only loan and invest the money we don't spend on a mortgage into various funds, etc and then use that money to pay off the balloon amount we'd owe in 5 years. "I know it's the only way we baby boomers can save money for retirement" he told us. This from the guy who has at least five maxed-out credit cards and just financed a new boat. My guess is it'd be a lot easier to save money if, at the very least, he didn't have that monthly boat payment.

In any case, I did some research on interest-only loans and they are, for various reasons, not highly-recommended for the average home buyer. Now, my step-father-in-law would say that this is because the banks don't want us to take out these kinds of loans. My in-laws are very much about get-rich-quick type of things (he's working to become a loan origination officer and says he'll make at least $6K a month) but have so far yet to become rich. Love them but don't want to be like them.

Also weighing me down: I have yet to have my annual review. I'm supposed to have it no later than May 15 (my hire date) which means I'd better have it no later than Friday. Please, oh please, I really want my three percent raise. No, really. More than that though I want the chance to talk about some things...there are some discussions that are long over-due.

Enough bitching though, the weekend was nice if incredibly hectic what with all the shows, a wedding reception, mother's day activities and basketball/Survivor watching. I need a day off from my days off....but the good thing is that I'm out of school and no longer have to cram five days' worth of work into 4 1/2 and there's no commuting and no homework stress and so generally, things are good.

If only I could win the lottery or something. Of course, that would mean playing the lottery.

3:13 pm - 05.10.04

sounds: E1ectrogroup
words: trashy magazines
i am: down, down, down....

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate