-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On money, babies and Lil Wayne

Horoscope for Jan. 13 2009

Capricorn: Again, you'll figure out a away to get everything you want. Either you can afford it or you don't really want it, right? Great attitude!

Dear Stars up above: Thanks for the advice.

Which brings us back to this.

We had the "big talk" last week. It came up rather inadvertently (sparked by a discussion on how to maximize space in our house), suffered some tears in the middle and ended with the resolution that, yes, we're going to try to have a child.

Neither of us are entirely sure how we're going to handle this financially - the first task is to try to refinance the house (our ARM is set to readjust net year) and hopefully keep the payment at what it's currently at, if not lower.

After that, well, I guess we'll see just what happens. I'm 39 and scared that window may have closed, or that we may suffer complications (miscarriage, birth defects, etc). I'm also still scared of losing myself, of giving up my free time, of always being tired and swamped.

But I'm also excited, I think. I lay awake at night thinking of ways to save money pre-baby and post-baby. I think about maternity leave and if there's anyway we could possibly afford six months, I'm thinking about what the hell do I want to do with my career anyway and does it involve this job, the job that I sometimes love, sometimes hate. I wonder if one can be a baby mama and also a rock'n'roll music critic, out reviewing show late at night. I wonder if my mom really will babysit as much as she says she would. I wonder if the crappy economy will prevent her from retiring next year like she'd like to and if that means we'd have to pay for daycare.

I think about baby names. I look up vintage baby stuff on eBay and hope nobody at work notices me looking at IKEA baby furniture online. I wonder if J. still has all that baby stuff she offered me two years ago.

I wonder what it'll do to my body besides the obvious bump. I wonder what it'll do to my head. I'm reading baby Web sites, I'm taking prenatal vitamins. I'm glad I got off the pill years ago. I marvel that when you search "baby" on Google it brings up related searches for Lil Wayne. Huh?

And I think he's really and truly on board for this too. At last. Suddenly, he's dropping things in casual conversation. Watching a local news report on parents lining up outside a school overnight in the hopes of getting their children into a prestigious elementary school: "Are you going to do that for our kid?"

Or, in response my comment that I "wouldn't mind" if my current diet made me "too skinny" ... "Well, that's not a good idea if you're trying to get pregnant..."

And so it goes...I guess only time will tell what the outcome to all these questions (and more sure to come) will be.

5:00 pm - 13.01.09

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate