-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

low battery transmission

So, the memorial service for my co-worker�s daughter�s funeral will be on Saturday.

These are the facts as I know them:

  • She was 16-years-old
  • She was the passenger in her friend�s car
  • They were on their way to school � having cut their first period class
  • The driver, her friend, was driving way too fast
  • The car veered over the median and hit another vehicle
  • The friend and the driver of the other vehicle were seriously injured
  • She liked photography and wanted to major in art
  • .

�and more than anything � more than this making me more afraid of getting into a car, it just makes me more fearful of being the person who has to receive that phone call. In this case, the coroner called my co-worker�s boss so that he could relay the news to him in person. It was better that way, I guess. As if there�s any better way.

It�s only Wednesday. Why does it feel like an entire week has passed in the last three weeks? Last night I was so tired that, post-Gilmore Girls, I had to go to sleep. I didn�t want to at first � too much homework, but it was GB�s suggestion that I go to bed early and then get up early and do some homework. It was a good suggestion. I was in bed by 9:30pm, dead asleep by 10pm. Got up at 7 a.m. and did homework for two hours. Went into work at 9:45 because I have to do some work tonight so they owe me some hours�in fact, I�m only working a half-day tomorrow and I will use my other half-day to go to school early and do research in the library for the upcoming term paper I still haven�t completely figured out.

That said�here�s is my life in a nutshell:

Between now and Dec. 13 (3 weeks and two days from now) I need to

  • finish at least 7 work-related projects
  • attend a memorial service
  • start and finish Chr*stina Garc*a�s �Dre*ming In C*ban�
  • read three short stories
  • write four short critical response papers
  • write one 15-20 page term paper � exact subject of which still TBA
  • Go see B*ck & the Fl*ming L*ps the day before Thanksgiving
  • Figure out some sort of vegetarian dish to make for Thanksgiving so GB and I don�t end up eating just salad, rolls and potatoes
  • attend various Thanksgiving family functions
  • embark upon three day trip to Oregon to visit GB�s dad and step mom
  • pray that the idea of doing lots of homework during seven hour road trip each way is not silly and futile
  • try not to crack

Now if you�ll excuse me, I have a headache to treat

5:34 pm - 11.20.02

sounds: Pa*K - "The Ors*n Fad*r"
words: see list below
i am: drinking Diet Cherry Coke and trying to figure out where some chocolate might be stashed....

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate