-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

make hay while the sun shines....

So on the day that I finally get off my ass and motivate myself to get to the gym on my lunch hour, I arrive (ON TIME) only to realize the gym is closed for its annual two-week renovation.

Damn it. The Exercise Gods are conspiring against me.

Oh well. The good news, despite a decided lack of physical activity in the past 2 weeks, I have actually lost a few pounds. Go figure.

And a co-worker just called me �tiny�.

�You must weigh 86 pounds,� she said.

Isn�t perception funny?

For the record (breathe deep, can�t believe I�m going to reveal this�does it mean I�m not a �lady�? That�s OK, I guess�.) I am 5 feet 6 inches and weigh 130 pounds.

Isn�t that the national average or something?

It�s certainly not :"tiny" (although I am small-boned and speaking from past experience, yes it's possible to be heavy AND small-boned...) but then again it�s not big.

I�m generally comfortable with my body these days � I do wish my stomach was a bit flatter and more toned. And I like the way my legs start to look when I get on one of my spinning or step class kicks�.

But anyway�so instead of working out a sweat I drove over to this cute little midtown boutique that sells Ben Sherman and Paul Frank stuff and bought GB some anniversary presents.

Yes, our three-year wedding anniversary is next Wednesday. I�m very happy and excited about this � I tell ya, this marriage thingy is hard and I feel very proud that we have completed year three relatively unscathed. I mean, this was a doozy of a year what with GB losing his job and being unemployed for eight months.

Anyway, as part of his gift I bought him a really cool Ben Sherman shirt (navy blue, red and white checked � slim mod cut, short-sleeved) and the most adorable Paul Frank cell phone cover that I really want for myself but just to show how serious I am about this marriage shit, I will give it to my beloved. You don�t know HOW much willpower that will take.

See? A good marriage � all about the sacrifice, ya know?

I�m going to get him a few other trinkets and then find some cool paper in which to wrap it all up. Oh and a mix CD � MUST do the mix CD.

Can I just say that I�m also really proud of myself for having gotten the majority of the gift taken care of MORE THAN A WEEK before our actual anniversary? This is SO unlike me.

Now, on the stink front - the smell seems to have faded a bit. You know, it DOES kind of smell like rotten orange juice � but there aren�t any plants near my desk�still, thanks once again for the tip.

In the meantime I have double and triple-checked the scent of my own body and am chewing Trident gum like mad.

One can never be too sure, you know?

Goodness, I just realized something - I think I'm in a good mood. I better take advantage of it while I can....

2:24 pm - 08.06.02

sounds: DJ Shadow - the Private Press
words: same ol' same ol'....
i am: not tiny, not big....just me....

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate