-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

moments, moments, moments

Yesterday was a very very VERY good day

met with VDW to discuss my thesis and not only is he super-flexible about arrangements - he's basically giving me the summer to work on it and not expecting to see much until the start of the fall semester - but he LIKED the story I gave him last week. The story I wrote 18 months ago in A's workshop - the first story I ever really felt remotely good about but was sure he would say had flat characters, blah, blah, blah. In fact that's what I prefaced it with when I gave it to him: I KNOW the characters are flat. I KNOW the story is prescriptive. I KNOW there's too much flashback - just give it a read anyway.

He handed it back to me yesterday on his way to grab a coffee before our meeting and his critique opened with this line: Shivers - what were you ON when you told me about this? This is frigging wonderful!

He said that other than a few small changes that he believes it's basically ready to be published.

ACK!

More importantly though the goddamned thing is 25 pages long which means it's at least one-third of my thesis! DONE!

I am thrilled.

Then, in class last night I workshopped a new story and to my surprise, everyone loved it. And I don't mean loved it in in the non-critical gushy way that's been bugging me about this class because a) the class was actually fairly critical about 2 other stories we workshopped yesterday and b) I implored a friend to PLEASE be constructive and honest because I need it - and it was this friend who turned to me after we workshopped it and said, quietly, I really really love this story.

After class another classmate asked me: so how are you going to top this? you've really set the bar high for yourself

And I know he meant that in a good way.

ACK!

Of course, I gave a copy to VDW and he may rip it apart because, in case you hadn't noticed, he is wildly unpredictable. But that's OK too becasue for just a few hours last night I felt like yeah, maybe I can do this. Maybe I am a writer after all

It was a really really good feeling.

Even finding out today that I probably do have to take 2 classes next semester (a workshop and a teaching class) has not dampened my spirits.

It feels good when things fall in place even for just a few hours.

12:53 pm - 03.04.04

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate