-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the ol' college try

Whew. A 10-hour interview process is, to say the least, exhausting.

Yesterday I met with no fewer than a dozen people over the course of the day (10am-8pm, including a staff dinner).

I also did a one-hour teaching demonstration. During the demo, the topic for which was 'point of view and voice in column and review writing' I could see one of the members of the hiring committee smiling very broadly.

There were about five faculty members present, watching and taking notes--as well as a camera guy filming so that others could view it later. Not at all intimidating. When I was done, one of the faculty members--the professor who has been there the longest--came up to me, shook my hand and said "If they don't hire you, they're nuts."

When I finally got home and started to decompress, however, my brain started dissecting everything thing I said. Or at least everything I could remember. And of course I decided that there many things that I screwed up and flubbed and bombed on. C. says that's just me being me. But...who knows.

Today, D, one of my co-workers at the community college checked in with me (she knows about this and wrote me a letter of rec). She'd heard through the grapevine that there are only four candidates total. I am the only candidate without a Ph.D. That does worry me. Technically, the job does have a Ph.D requirement--even though Ph.Ds in journalism are rather rare. Even though M, the person who referred me to the job and is now on the hiring committee said it was just a technicality and would not affect the decision. Maybe that's how the department feels but if the College of Arts & Letters feels differently it could be a dealbreaker.

Then again, D. said one of the Ph.D candidates already flamed out--his teaching demonstration was so bad that faculty members walked out. Now there are two more candidates to go (I know one is scheduled for Friday and one is scheduled for Monday).

Nothin' to do but wait.

3:07 pm - 09.05.13

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

that stoner kid from the neighbohood uptown a ways. - 24.05.13 - 10:57 am

best tiger friend forever - 22.05.13 - 7:30 am

the meh of May - 20.05.13 - 1:00 pm

haven't got time for the pain - 17.05.13 - 4:27 pm

things - 16.05.13 - 1:59 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate