-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

on 2017

I stole this from Narcissa because a) I liked it b) I miss the way we all used to document our lives through Diaryland instead of this newfangled social media

1. What did you do in 2017 that you’d never done before? Started teaching full time (does that count? I mean, I'd taught before...but, serious career change. OK, maybe it's that: Serious career change). It was sometimes terrifying, sometimes exhilarating and most definitely exhausting. I'm so glad I did it.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? New Year's 2017 coincided with the craziness that was interviewing and getting the new job and in the thick of it all I forgot to really make substantial resolutions beyond 'read more', 'write more', 'exercise more'.

This year I’ve resolved to spend more quality time with friends and, also, to devote much of my summer to writing.

3. What would you like to have in 2018 that you lacked in 2017? TIME. More energy and better sleep. I'm always tired and yet I have trouble sleeping.

4. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Completing that first year on the job. Hired just a week before the semester started it felt as though I was motored out to the center of the ocean, given a Titanic-styled life raft and thrown overboard. That said, this semester I can already see how the work I put in this last year is paying off in ways both big and small. It was hard to see that safety of shore when it felt as though I was drowning.
5. What was your biggest failure? Work-life balance, for sure. Also, eating healthier and exercising more. I gained 10 pounds this last year--so, yeah : (

6. Did you suffer illness or injury? Not really or at least not that I know of. I did suffer from a profound lack of decent sleep.

7. Whose behavior merited celebration? My husband--he was my lifeline that first semester, especially on the nights I worked from 9-3, came home and napped and then worked again from 6-11. Without fail he fixed dinner, did the chores and poured me a nightcap.

8. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? Ugh, 45 to be sure--and all the people who support him.

9. Where did most of your money go? If I'm being honest, mostly clothes. But also my train trip to Chicago/Washington state and also some trips to Oregon.


10. What did you get really, really, really excited about? The women's march--more than 20,000 people marched in our stodgy city! Also, my train trip--I love solo travel and it really helped me reset after that crazy first semester.

11. What song will always remind you of 2017? I don't know if I can think of a single song. I listened to a lot of Gillian Welch, Courtney Barnett and Kurt Vile, Japanese Breakfast, etc...

12. Compared to this time last year, are you: (a) happier or sadder? (b) thinner or fatter? (c) richer or poorer? a) i think about the same. b) definitely fatter c) about the same.
13. What do you wish you’d done more of? Exercise. Spending time with friends, exploring new things. Writing.
14. What do you wish you’d done less of? Staring at a computer...like I am now.
15. How did you spend Christmas? With C. in the early morning, my family for brunch and C's mom's family for dinner. A little hectic but nice.
16. Did you fall in love in 2017? I stayed in love.
17. What was your favorite TV program? Ozark, maybe, probably.
18. What was the best book you read? The Bright Hour by Nina Riggs.
19. What was your greatest musical discovery? I don't think there was a single greatest. It's the first year I didn't actively write about music every week and I guess it shows. I listened a lot to various things but I'm not sure if anything felt like discovery. Damn, that depresses me to be honest.
20. What did you want and get? To take the train to Chicago and then Portland and I did.
21. What did you want and not get? I wanted to finish my book.
22. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? Went to dinner with C, P, B and R. Honestly, I felt a little depressed as I do most birthdays but, still, that dinner was lovely. I was 48.
23. What one thing made your year immeasurably more satisfying? All of my kick-ass, smart, hilarious and wonderful students. Seriously.
24. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2017? LOL. Dry shampoo-powered with jeans, booties and vaguely arty tops.
25. What kept you sane? Whiskey.
26. What political issue stirred you the most? I can't name just one. Immigrants, DACA, health care for starters.
27. Who did you miss? My old co-workers. I still do.
28. Who was the best new person you met? My colleagues J and D. They helped me survive the academic year a million times over.
29. What is a valuable life lesson you learned in 2017. Sleep fucking matters.
30. What was the best thing you bought? A train ticket.
31. What countries did you visit? None : ( But, I did travel through many states and marveled at getting to see amazing scenery via the railway.

2:56 pm - 26.01.18

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

just like spring rain - 19.03.18 - 7:28 pm

why won't you call me lady bird? - 16.03.18 - 2:55 pm

¯\_(ツ)_/¯ - 06.03.18 - 7:06 pm

C'mon Shivers, get real. - 27.02.18 - 8:46 pm

turn it up to 11 - 27.01.18 - 11:51 am

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
thruthecrowd
histamine
narcissa
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate
andrew