-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

things you will one day know

Sometimes I wonder what it will take for me realize there is more to life than everything you see here.

More to life than what I am. Or what I do. Or what I look like. Or this or that and everything in between.

As if the passing of LC�s father in October � a swift but painful death from cancer - and my co-worker�s daughter�s death last month (car crash) were not enough to remind me of these things�

Today one of my very esteemed colleagues collapsed in the bathroom. He was 86 years old and had been with this company for 50 years � longer than I have been alive. Indeed he was older than I am now when he started working here.

Not only did he refuse any suggestions of retirement but this man was one of the kindest, most endearing, hardest-working individuals I have ever met.

I don�t know of anyone here who has ever uttered or heard an unkind word about him.

It took eight minutes for the paramedics to arrive. They spent another, very long 15-20 minutes trying to revive him before they carried him away on a stretcher and took him to the hospital.

During that 15-20 minute period of time, we all stood staring at the men�s bathroom, waiting for something. Grim, whispering, crying.

They announced a few minutes ago that this dear, kind man had passed away.

And the only things I can think are: why did I not find more time to talk to this person who always went out of his way to ask how I was doing? And I hope that I can maintain the same spirit and worth ethic and enthusiasm for life that he did � indeed if I die in the bathroom at my place of employment because even though I am 86 and well-deserving of retirement, I would just rather be doing what I do best, well then I will consider that a life well-lived. And finally, there is something I need to be learning � something I need to know that LC�s father and A�s daughter�s deaths only started to suggest to me.

I know that life goes on, but I don�t want it to go on without recognizing the beauty of this one man�s life and all that we can learn from it � as well as what we can learn from his passing.

Bill, you will be missed.

3:08 pm - 12.20.02

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate