-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

you can't live in the past but you can visit sometimes...

what a day. it was another trip back to the old high school today - to speak to a class of students interested in the field in which I work. Always makes me nostalgic and melancholy.

So, as if that element weren't enough, it's freaking SPIRIT week at said school and today was '80's Day'. (I guess they don't do '50's Day' anymore? Or even '60's' or '70's?). Which meant that I walked into a classroom at my old highschool and everyone was wearing Flashdance-styled sweatshirts and Duran Duran shirts and legwarmers and headbands and they had big hair and dangling Madonna-styled bracelets and the teacher - who just happens to be a friend of mine FROM HIGH SCHOOL was playing Duran Duran and Cocteau Twins CDs and I had to blink a couple of times and tell myself that it was still 2002 and NOT 1984 and I had NOT stepped back nearly 20 years in time to be confronted with some Bizarro World version of my life.

Whew.

Talk about unnerving.

It's unsettling enough that whenever I step foot on this campus I immediately turn into that guy who sings "I wanna run through the halls of my high school, I want to scream at the top of my lungs..."

Maybe it's just because it's fall and all the leaves are turning color and slowly disappearing and autumn makes me melancholy as it is.

The class thing itself was good though. I talked and answered questions for an hour and then stayed behind for another hour to talk to my old friend who is now the most popular teacher on campus (no surprise there) as well as some of the students who were very bright and articulate and inspired.

And it both made me sad and angry to learn that the adminstration is wanting to make deep cuts to the school's rather-famous arts program.

If I hadn't become involved with that program when I was 16 I would've ended up pregnant, I told them. My life would be The Gilmore Girls - if I were even that lucky.

So true. So very, very true....

5:52 pm - 10.30.02

sounds: leaves falling, wind whooshing, the day turning
words: school stuff
i am: melancholy

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate