-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

no rolling back

So I think that my father just spent his morning reading my blog (not this site - my 'real world, written under my name, rather boring blog' site).

Of course I have a stats counter on that blog and this morning, casually, I decided to check it. Only to find out that someone w/ a Southwestern Bell ISP had done a google search on my name and then read 15 pages of my web site. So, to confirm my suspicions, I plugged the ISP number into this web site -- and yep, this person is in Austin.

Now, if it had been the university ISP I would be convinced, but really, unless it's somebody with who I went to junior high, who else could it be? Other than G&M who JUST moved there and already know my URL...who else would Google me? Hmmm...could be the editors at the music magazine for which I sometimes freelance - but they already know my domain name too, I think...maybe...

maybe it's not him...

I hope not. Because it's been FOUR years since I've talked to him. Four fucking years - his choice - and frankly, since he's never bothered tp respond to the handful of birthday/holiday cards, wedding photos or two serious letters that I've sent since then, why should I want to?

Either way it just brings up things I don't want to think about and feelings I don't want to have...if it's you, dear dad, please crawl back under your rock and take these thoughts and feelings with you...

In other developments:

first the good news: after a $400, 3:30 a.m. emergency trip to the vet my darling cat is OK....we rushed her there Saturday morning after waking to find her trying to pee all over the house but only being able to discharge tiny droplets of blood-soaked urine...she has an auto-immune disorder and the shots she gets for them can result in kidney damage (we get her regular blood tests to check for this) and so i freaked out thinking that the last blood test missed something and she was really bad off and was going to die and this is my BABY we're talking about...

But...the vet seems to just think it's a urinary tract infection (won't know for sure til later this week) and gave us some antibiotics which seem to be doing the trick.

The bad news is that this means we can't go on our Grand Canyon trip. Because even though my mother offered to come by twice a day to try and force the foul chicken-flavored liquid medicine down her throat - that's really too much to ask of someone and besides, I'm just worried that she might get sick again while we're gone and by the time someone notices she'll have had to endure much suffering.

The spouse and I are both disappointed of course, but in total agreement that this is what we should do...and actually, now that I've had a day or two to get over it, I'm actually looking forward to two whole weeks around the house.

I've got a to-do list that's a mile long and if I cross off even a third of the items I'll be happy. We're going to try and do at least one day trip (GB is only off from work for three days, starting Wednesday) and maybe do some stuff around town.

If only we weren't in the throes of a 104 degree-plus heatwave...it would be like paradise....

12:19 pm - 07.21.03

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate