-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i saddled up my pony ride

Busy busy last couple of days.

Busy week overall.

To put it in perspective for you I have accumulated enough overtime in the last week to earn two full days� worth of comp time. That breaks down to working three evenings on top of my regular schedule � including a 15-hour day on Friday. All that and I finished all my homework and went to class on Thursday.

Although I spent a lot of time studying this weekend I�m trying to also get some rest. I slept about 11 hours Saturday night. I LOVE it when we return to standard time. That extra hour is like a precious little gift. It actually makes me giddy.

Anyway � as a result of all the long hours and hard work � my emotions have been in a bit of a jumble. I feel as if I�m on overdrive. This probably explains why I got giddy when, on Friday, a Rather Famous Person told me (jokingly) to �fuck off� and then called me �baby� and �honey� as he clasped my arm.

I don�t care if he called EVERY girl in the vicinity �baby� and �honey�. This Rather Famous Person told ME to fuck off and he laughed and then I laughed and it was like our little secret and the fact that he is incredibly sexy only made it a hundred times better.

Yeah I�m a famous-sexy-person emo-slut like that.

And no, he�s not a Rock Star.

And then last night I dreamt that Beck and I were best friends and he was trying to track down a tour sweatshirt in my size.

Um. Hmmmm.

That�s probably because I can�t stop listening to �Sea Change�.

And then a very cute boy at the coffee shop where I study flirted with me and, sitting there all Sunday slumming in my Sonic Youth t-shirt and hair in pigtails I felt, briefly, like maybe I am this cute girl with a confident smile and not the awkward freak geek girl that I really and truly am.

Maybe. Just maybe.

And Saturday night the spouse and I relaxed in front of a fire watching the World Series and drinking red wine.

I�ve even managed to write more than 3,000 of my new short story. I wrote more than 2,000 words yesterday. And I think maybe it doesn�t totally suck. It DOES need a lot of work: some restructuring, lots of polishing � who knows maybe a completely fucking overhaul � but the point is I�m writing.

The fact that my father was featured in a major section cover story in the New York Times on Thursday (with a photo even) and that both my aunt and grandparents had to call to make sure I didn�t miss it has only served to dampen my mood just a bit.

It�s just a bit disconcerting to pick up the New York Times and flip to the section in question and see your father�s face looking back at you and think: That�s my dad � the one with whom I haven�t spoken in more than three years. Good to see he�s still alive and doing well, I guess.

I think this week will be a bit more mellow. I certainly hope so. Certainly I�m not expecting any more celebrity encounters. Nor any more flirting. Just work and school, work and school.

I have class Halloween night. We might go out to the Club when I get home � but I�m not dressing up as anything.

I never do.

I�m boring like that.

xoxo

~S

P.S. Still haven't had a cigarette but I'm still craving one.

11:07 am - 10.28.02

sounds: fingers tapping on keyboards
words: morning newspapers
i am: ready for the week ... I think

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate