-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity

All this feels so long ago now.

But of course it's not.

Or is it?

So much has happened since my spring meltdown.

The trip back home to Texas--why do I still think of it as home although I haven't lived there for nearly 30 years?--was, truly, an emotional renewal. Staying with my aunt--the only person on the face of the planet, apparently, who remains close to my father.

Hearing family stories--including what she refers to as "the Great Holocaust"--ie, when my biological mother left me in a daycare while my father was in Vietnam so that she could fly off to the Bahamas with her boyfriend. I'd heard bits and pieces of this story of course--most notably from BioMom, my father won't speak of it.

But my aunt, who was 17 when it happened and awestruck by BioMom's beauty at the time, obviously has a much different perspective.

Spent time with my grandmother--which affected me far more deeply than I could have ever imagined. And why not, really? She and my grandfather raised me from age 2 --the year BioMom left--to age 4 when my dad remarried.

Spent time driving through central Texas, so taken with its desolate beauty, vowing to return.

C & I will, I think, hopefully in March for SXSW. By that point my aunt will be living there (she's moving this month from Fort Worth) and, finally, C can meet at least 2 people on that side of the family.

Back in California, life picked up speed- what with the new job and all. Major growing pains but I'm trying to embrace the challenge, trying to have confidence in my authority--even when this means going head-to-head with my co-editor. Luckily we mostly get along...he's just notoriously a micro-manager and not open to ideas that are not apparently as brilliant as his own. But we really do get along--it's a brother/sister sort of thing. The bickering just goes along with that; in the end we tend to make up. Friday, in fact, he came into my office at the end of the and poured me a beer by way of reconciliation. Can't argue too much with that kind of working relationship, no?

In other areas of my life, things just remain status quo--except lifted ever-so-slightly by the fact that my new job/raise means we are no longer dead broke all the time. I know money can't buy happiness but let me tell you, if you are working very hard to keep your head screwed on straight in general, well it does not hurt.

4:29 pm - 15.07.12

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

blood is not thicker than water - 28.01.13 - 12:02 pm

fuck you, gluten - 08.01.13 - 10:56 am

Lately I just pee on a lot of sticks - 07.01.13 - 9:12 pm

Fitting, I suppose - 27.11.12 - 12:12 pm

Just for kicks - 05.11.12 - 2:10 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate