-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my mouth is filled with silvery stars

It�s like this big secret I�ve just been let in on. All the cool kids know about that E Minor chord.

Oh yeah, says GB knowingly when I tell him I think I�ve fallen in love with a chord. It�s one of the saddest chords there is.

Then he proceeds to tell me about happy and sad chords.

You know when the Beatles do that heavy strum at the end of �I Wanna Hold Your Hand� he explains, demonstrating with these exaggerated strumming motions as he accentuates the words I. Wanna. Hold. Yourrrrrrrrrrr. Hannnnnnnnd. That�s a happy chord .

Now that�s just something the chord book is never going to tell you. And it puts a lot of it into a clearer perspective for me. I understand things that are divided between happy and sad. Moody and bright. Sparkly and temperamental.

I understand all of that stuff.

It makes me really want to practice. I know I�ve said that before and hopefully I�m not just being a big loser here but really it does. It makes me want to write that song that�s in my head. The one that�s angry and sad and moody.

I�m probably getting ahead of myself here, but what the fuck right?

On the way to work this morning I turned on the radio while I was rewinding a tape and that song came on again. And it�s interesting, amazing even. Exactly one week ago as I drove that route at the same time and that song came on (don�t you love the consistency of radio? Yeah, right) and I was crying. And today, I wasn�t. Today the mood is good. For whatever that is worth. K and I went out last night to celebrate (or mourn? No, definitely celebrate) the end of summer. Mexican food on the river and then some drinks down at the bar. An early evening actually, home by 10:30 so that I could get to sleep early so I could get up early (which didn�t quite work out as planned because my cat woke me up every hour on the hour wanting to know if she could have more food yet. She�s becoming quite the piglet so I�m trying to wean her off of her food dependency. I think she just likes to eat because it gives her something to do. Anyway, I finally gave in at 4 a.m. Honestly, I�m not starving her. You should see how she eats. Maybe there�s something wrong with her? Maybe I should take her to the vet.)

Tonight, the Thai food and then the rock show. And I think there may be a new development in this diary, perhaps over the weekend. Nothing spectacular. I shouldn�t have said anything. Just an idea that is brewing. It�s really only a big deal to me.

Last night I had this dream featuring one of my co-workers. A girl I don�t like much. In my dream she was my mother. And she was freaking out and breaking dishes at a grocery store and I was trying to calm her down before someone had her committed. I was trying to figure out why she was so upset. The mother and daughter from �The Gilmore Girls� were in my dream too but I know that�s just left over from me watching the show on Tuesday night..

Wearing today: tight dark red t-shirt with spray of gray silk-screened flowers across the chest. Looks cuter than it probably sounds. Heavy gray twill pants bought at Old Navy for only $4 (found �em in the men�s section�). Chunky-heeled black lace-up boots. Emily the Strange watch. Tony & Tina lipstick in �Intelligence� with its soothing essence of lavender. Lots of Maybelline Great Lash mascara in Very Black.

Listening to: Old 97�s: Satellite Songs. Previous CD: new Wilco. Next up: either the new Robbie Fulks or the new Kelly Hogan. I�m in that kind of mood today. Something twangy with a twist of bitter.

Laughing over: an e-mail from my cousin explaining to me why she likes to read Cosmopolitan

�Okay I am a dork and I admit it. I know you are into all those cool zines and what not, but, me being the mainstream one of us two, I stick to Cosmo � I go straight to the quizzes and the horoscopes, you can call me shallow, but I prefer my pages glossy and my woman airbrushed.�

Hey, I read Cosmo at the gym and when I�m getting my hair done. I�ll happily admit it. Sometimes I even read Cosmo Girl, but don�t tell anyone.

Should be: working my ass off to meet this deadline

Wishing: as always, that there was more time in the day (And hoping your day got better).

11:18 am - 08.31.01

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate