-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

life's not a storybook...

today is one of those dim, gray days with only drops of rain to lend it any sparkle....i'm sitting at my desk feeling unproductive - or rather, feeling overwhelmed (where to start?) - and everything seems dull....

i need to make up a 'to-do' list. i need to prioritize. i need to make plans and put them into action....i'm telling myself this feeling of inertia is a result of my 'vacation' and then just cramming to get a few things done and now settling back in and going 'so now what?'

last night i had dinner with the lovely colddigits - only the second D-lander I've ever met...dinner was good, the conversation nice, the person great - all of this despite that i got lost during the five minute drive from school to the restaurant...pretty typical for me...

School was good - our last real class as next week we start oral reports ... the MFA reading publishing committee liked the invitations and so all is fine and dandy except now I have to make a flyer, a program and a chapbook...

aiiiyyeeeeeee

is that my head i hear exploding? i was so beat when i finally got home last night i could barely even converse with GB...it was all i could do to crawl into bed and collapse....and then I couldn't get out of bed this morning...the dullness of the gray light seeping in through the window didn't help....i slept until 8:45...way past the 7 a.m. time I had set for myself....

and so now i haven't written at all this week and tonight I have to work on the flyer and tomorrow night i'm getting my haircut and Saturday is the memorial reading for A and so that means no writing until Sunday....

blah...

i guess i could get up early tomorrow morning and write...

hmm...well it sounds like a good plan now....

on a positive note - i'm just brimming with ideas for stories...however i feel compelled to try and see the story i'm working on to its close...or at least its draft close...not finished/polished....just finished in the sense that i have something to work with...does that even make sense? Then again, our craft instructor told us yesterday in class that we should 'never rush a story to a premature close'....and after everyone got done snickering at the idea of a 'premature close' (and yes, we are in GRADUATE school...what of it?), i felt a bit dispirited...at this rate I'll never finish a goddamned story...because how do you know when it's really done? how do you know what the ending should be? when does it feel right?

the story i'm working on right now - i'm really very unsure of the direction it's going in. Part of this, I think, is a sign that I need to get to know my character a bit better. Sit her down for a cup of coffee and ask her what's on her mind and why she's doing what she's doing.

Hopefully she'll want to talk about it...

.

.

.

.

.

I'm so happy it's basketball playoff season... I love NBA basketball playoffs...

.

.

.

and i'm really glad i'm getting my hair cut tomorrow - it's being quite unruly....

.

.

.

.

.

OK, i'm going to go make a to-do list and kick my day into gear...

12:18 pm - 04.17.03

sounds: Br*ght Eyes
words: Organic $tyle magazine
i am: tired and feeling unproductive...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate