-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

when summer is sweet and all green

So I had to drag my ass into work early this morning for a phone call w/ an 8 a.m. international client. And after I brushed off the snarky comment from a co-worker (You're giving young hipsters a bad name by being here so early*), I settled down to get ready for the call and then dialed.

And dialed.

And redialed.

And redialed.

And after about seven redials - all leading to either busy signals or 'you're call did not go through recordings', I finally called international assistance, only to find out that the number that the client e-mailed me is missing one digit.

One freaking digit.

For this I had to get up at 6:30 a.m.

Not a big fan of 6:30 a.m.

Especially when it means trying to go to bed early on a warm late spring night when there is a light breeze blowing and iced tea to be had and a new TV to be watched.

Check out the new TV:

Imagine basketball players inside the screen instead of a goofy car

It's pretty cool - but big. Damn big. Almost too big.

A friend with a truck took GB to the place to buy it. But then he left the two of us to try and get it out of the box and on to the TV stand.

That didn't work too well - we finally had to call over M&R to help us.

Which they didn't mind because we had beer and the Western conference finals on cable and we threw in a loan of the first season of The Sopranos on DVD plus a gift of the free DVD player** we got as a bonus for buying the damn TV.

They wanted to know if we had anything else we had to move.

Anyway, tonight we'll break it in with two episodes of The Gilmore Girls (last week's episode, taped, and the new one), plus maybe a movie. We tried out a few minutes of Moulin Rouge last night and it looked pretty damn good.

The best thing, however, is that my blind eyes can now see. I can see the ball wherever it is on the court! I can read the ticker on CNN! I don't have to squint!

This is a good thing.

I hope it's nice again tonight and we can throw open all the windows in the house and drink iced tea and listen to the whir of the ceiling fan and let the shadows flicker on the wall as we watch our new gigantor TV...

*This is the dumbest thing anyone's said to me in a while. For one, I'm not that young. I'm not that hop and who's business is it if I get to work at 7:45 a.m. instead of 9:05?

**free DVD player=off-brand. We already have a DVD player and even though M&R do too, they also have a TV in their bedroom so we thought they might want it...they did...

P.S. Client's PR person just called. She swears the number is correct and I'm to try again at 10 a.m. Urgh....

9:09 am - 05.20.03

sounds: C1em Snide
words: Fast F00D Nation
i am: up too early

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate