-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the apple doesn't fall far from the tree (and i want to eat it)

I'm having one of those Food Days. The kind in which I feel like eating anything and everything. And it's not even a hormonal issue today. Kind of weird, but hard to fight. Luckily there is some Indian food in my future so that oughta knock all cravings right out of me.

Class was OK today - mainly because this week they're doing in-class essays so it's up to them to be all busy-like while I kick back and plan future classes. Which, speaking of, there are only a few. Because, get this, the district only now saw it fit to inform me that three - three! - of our classes in May must be cancelled or otherwise dealt with off-campus due to various state-mandated tests. It is, apparently, all about keeping the campus deathly quiet during the tests and yet, know no one (oh my god, i really *do* know how to spell "no one" - i attribute this to burnout) seems to worry about the noise level when I'm conducting class. In any case, this cuts down the number of remaining classes from nine to six. On one hand, I'm fine with that - and certainly the students are absolutely peachy with it. On the other hand, however, they've already cut three other classes out of the schedule this semester and how am I supposed to follow my syllabus if they keep cutting classes and then letting me know only a week or so in advance? I mean, for reals - it's to the point where even one of my students was like, "Really? Again? That's messed up."

If a 17-year-old can observe that the district's organizational skills are, well, messed up - then you know something's wrong.

Also, I have not talked with my Problem Student yet - in fact I think he's avoiding eye contact with me...I'll have the weekend to think about options...thanks to everyone for the advice.

Also: I just learned my cat has Irritable Bowel Syndrome. This is the same cat who has a pacemaker, has suffered kidney failure, had weird cysts removed from her head, has a permanently clogged tear duct, has an autoimmune disorder that's caused her to lose most of her teeth and who is cross-eyed.

I know, right?

She's also the cuddliest, sweetest cat on earth. Mainly, though, she's as obsessed with food as I am - I think that's why we get along so well.

The apple doesn't fall far from the tree - so to speak.

Kitty IBS is totally controllable through diet ... hopefully Sophie will be OK with her new doctor-mandated food.

4:19 pm - 16.04.08

sounds: co-workers chattering
words:
i am: all kinds of hungry

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate