-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mind the gap

I keep thinking: "This isn't the reaction I expected to have" but that sounds weird and maybe even cold.

Of course the truth is I couldn't know what my reaction would be because I didn't expect it. I mean, in some ways I did because it's cancer for fuck's sake. But in other respects I've been so lucky not to have ever lost a loved one prematurely. My grandparents lived fairly long lives. Their deaths did not shock.

My mother is only, what--67? 68? It upsets me that I don't know this. That there are so many things I don't know about her.

Point is, though, she's too damn young.

Point is, I had so much more to learn about her and the act of learning with her requires a painstacking dismantling of the bricks that have built up around her.

Suddenly I am grieving the loss of her, the loss of all that and she's not yet gone.

On my last trip to Texas I'd thought I'd reconciled so many things: That we would never be particularly close. That she would never let me much further in. That there would always be secrets. That maybe, as a reporter, I could uncover a few truths on my own but those revelations would never come via her.

Now I feel like such a liar. There is no reconcilation. Only a sudden, desparate need to mind the gap, reveal the histories, find some genuine love and warmth in our shared history.

11:26 am - 01.09.15

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

Yes, with many - 16.09.15 - 10:30 am

Some summers, they drop like flies - 09.09.15 - 11:32 am

Better than OK - 05.09.15 - 6:54 pm

Goddamn, this week - 04.09.15 - 4:49 pm

Goodbye, Brianna - 03.09.15 - 1:10 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

secret-motel
raven72d
moodswing
arajane
yourtipsucks
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
miralogue
ann-frank
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
mrs-roboto
nudeplatypus
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate