-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a good problem to have, right?

Feeling almost 100 percent again except for this lingering cough that makes me feel like a 70-year-old lifelong smoker. It's the worst.

But the energy is pretty much back although this weekend I had a hard time feeling motivated.

I think it's that I'm feeling overwhelmed with choices. That's a good problem to have, right?

Maybe.

There's so much I want to do--finish my book, start two podcasts (two!), blog more, freelance--and I just don't know where to start. Like, do I pick one thing, finish it and then move on to the next thing? That seems boring. Although infinitely more logical.

Considering going to the B1ogHer conference in August. It's in LA this year which means it's fairly affordable--I can probably get my work to at least pay the registration cost. I'm not sure how worth my time and money it is, to be honest, I just want to go and feel like I'm doing something productive. (To that end I'm thinking of doing the March blogging challenge again because apparently I hate myself).

I'm so bad about spending money, however. Meaning I spend too much. C and I both do. We have a lot of debt. Some of it is circumstantial and dates back to when I got laid off and the few years after when I was juggling two crappy part-time jobs. Incoming money is much better now but the debt lingers and it's hard to take a meaningful chunk out of it. Buying a house didn't help except for the fact that we'll supposedly do better on our taxes and I keep telling myself it was a smart investment.

Oh, and we have very little retirement at this point. I intend to adult up this year and make a change but the scary thing is that barely gives me 20 years to grow a nest egg. I suck at this being a grown-up thing.

If it makes you feel any better ("You" know who you are), C and I have the same issues. Or maybe it's just me that has the issues. When you've been in a relationship this long there are so many layers of everything you've said/done/experienced together--good and bad--that it can very very difficult to scrape beneath said layers and find the necessary spark.

Very difficult, indeed. It's definitely a thorny issue between us. I wish I had better answers.

Until then I'll just continue to fret over all my silly creative problems.

P.S. Dangerspouse! We should start a feminist electronica project under that name.

2:59 pm - 16.02.16

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

thank god for yoga - 22.03.16 - 2:35 pm

deep breaths - 17.03.16 - 10:43 am

So much for trying to drink less - 16.03.16 - 1:21 pm

Let's just skip to the hard stuff - 15.03.16 - 11:18 am

The girl in the bubble - 08.03.16 - 1:47 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

dirtyboots
dangerspouse
catsoul
raven72d
secret-motel
histamine
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
miralogue
ann-frank
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
mrs-roboto
nudeplatypus
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate