-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A lifetime ago and then again not ...

What a weird, weird week. Is it a wonder I've spent most of it feeling as though I have the flu? As soon as I get off work I go home and change into comfy clothes and zone out. It feels good in sort of a bad way but it's really hard for me to relax sometimes so maybe it feels bad in a good way? I don't know.

Little R. is doing fine; she went back to daycare this week but P. says she can't stop replaying the scene in her head. Me either. We both agreed to scrap the podcast we recorded the night before up in the cabin's attic because it just seems too traumatizing.

I think we might go over to their house on Sunday; a mini do-over.

In other news, C's dad has also been unwell. He may need heart surgery on a valve but first they have to stabilize his health in other ways. He's been on an oxygen tank 24/7 the last six months or so and it's all so distressing. He's overweight and up until last year was still smoking. The only good thing (barely) that's come out of this is that C's trying to be healthier--riding the exercise bike, eating better (mostly). I look at his dad and I worry about C and I've told him so. I want us to grow old together and have that journey be as healthy as possible.

Speaking of which, your post reminded me that I need to start incorporating weights into my workouts again. I actually like doing weights but when I'm crunched for time (always) I pick cardio instead. And by 'cardio' I mean 45-minutes on the elliptical reading a book. I get my heart rate going and all that but, obviously, I need to do other things if I truly want to get this weight thing under control.

I am going to apply for the aforementioned job. Meeting next week with two of my journalism faculty friends--the two who've helped me get this far--to discuss the job and application process. And thank you for your words of encouragement, etc--I really needed to hear that.

Also, unrelated, Johnny M@rr is THE best. I loved interviewing him.

Also, I'm glad you are in a place (and of the mindset) to turn down that stupid proofing job. It's funny when I read that post I thought, 'oh, yeah--I remember when you worked there..." It feels like a lifetime ago and then again not.

Also, unrelated (except maybe related to your dream): Our roof is leaking. Or maybe it's the flashing around the chimney in the attic. Until this week I had no idea what "flashing" is but now I do and I'm hoping that's all it is. Yay, home ownership. Kidding. I'm still very grateful we own a house. It's felt like such a victory (however small) in this crazy unpredictable life. These days I'll take my victories where I can.

I am so happy we have no plans tonight or tomorrow. A quiet weekend nesting and reading is in order.

12:32 pm - 04.11.16

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

Garden variety anxiety - 06.12.16 - 4:39 pm

Universe, can you just NOT right now? - 21.11.16 - 11:31 am

Ugh. No, seriously, ugh. - 16.11.16 - 4:17 pm

heartsick - 10.11.16 - 2:12 pm

On new presidents, patriarchal smugness and pony memories - 08.11.16 - 12:45 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

dirtyboots
dangerspouse
catsoul
raven72d
secret-motel
histamine
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
miralogue
ann-frank
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
mrs-roboto
nudeplatypus
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate