-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ugh. No, seriously, ugh.

Ugh, what a goddamned week.

Not sure if you were asking *me* to email you my thoughts on those things you talked about, but I'd happily email either way. Maybe 'happily' is the wrong term here, but you get my drift. Though I'm not sure I actually have an email address for you. What is up with that?

Ugh. What a week. Here's the thing, I am very scared about a lot of things that could happen. And I'm very tired of all the theories of why it happened this way. I get that we need self-reflection and course-correction but right now it just feels like we're all shooting randomly into the sky out of fear and panic. Right now I'm trying to focus on action--how to make real, concrete changes be it through donating, joining political groups, calling senators and participating in protests. I want to just DO something. And by 'something' I don't mean safety pins. I appreciate the sentiment on that, but ...

At my book group we talked about it all (of course) and there's a new member with whom I was already kind of annoyed because it felt like she was trying to lead the group and, I'm sorry, but you're BRAND NEW to the group, maybe listen a little more instead of trying to direct? Is that shitty of me? Probably. But still. Maybe I'm just jealous of her confidence. Probably.

Anyway, at point she said "Yesterday I was out and I smiled at some minorities and they smiled back and I don't know if it was because they knew I was an ally or if because I just smiled..."

I had to get up and walk out of the room (Oh look, cheese and wine! I must get more...) because "some minorities"?

I wish I'd had the balls to say something to her then and there but I didn't. Call it being taken off guard, call it a lack of conviction, call it general awfulness on my part. I mean if I can't handle the affluent middle-aged blonde lady then what am I good for really?

Ugh.

4:17 pm - 16.11.16

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

Goodbye, 2016 - 30.12.16 - 3:32 pm

a virtual room of one's own - 19.12.16 - 3:19 pm

On entitlement and self-despair .... - 15.12.16 - 3:42 pm

Garden variety anxiety - 06.12.16 - 4:39 pm

Universe, can you just NOT right now? - 21.11.16 - 11:31 am

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

histamine
secret-motel
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
raven72d
narcissa
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate