-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

17 years later


In the spirit of revisiting old surveys, I'm re-doing this one from 2003. Some of the answers from 17 years ago remain the same, others...not so much. Also, there are some weirdly era-specific questions in here but I kept them in.

Which song do you wish was written about you?

I still swoon over any melancholy song from a cute rocker boy, indie or otherwise. He's not indie, but I couldn't stop playing Harry Styles' "Cherry" this summer. And even though I'm not a two-bit actress, the Fountains of Wayne song "Hoboken" really makes me wistful.

Which book character would you like to have been?

These days, I've thought about what it would be like to live the life of the main character in Sally Rooney's "Conversations with Friends". Weird choice, probably. Oh, OH, and the main character in "Rules of Civility." I loved that book and character.

What is the most played cd in your whole collection?

Still, probably, the same answers as 2003: Miss America by Mary Margaret O'Hara and Liz Phair's Exile in Guyville. I've writing a chapter of my memoir that focuses on Guyville, actually. Also: Kristen Hersh's Sunny Border Blue, Wilco's Being There, Yo La Tengo's I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One.

What's your favourite day of the week and why?

My previous answer was Thursday, and I still really like Thursdays for the same-ish reasons, but I'll add Saturday into the mix. Specifically, Saturday morning when the whole weekend still stretches out before you.

What is your shortest relationship?

Same answer as last time: Probably a week.

How many dead people have you seen?

Four.

What�s your favorite finger and why?

Last time I said my pinky and this time I'm thinking 'why do I have to pick?"

Quote me something from memory

"Women belong in all places where decisions are being made. … It shouldn't be that women are the exception."
Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Define 'love' without using a dictionary

Solid and comforting.

The KLF burning one million pounds, genius or pathetic?

Still pathetic.

The last thing you said to one of your parents was?

Goodnight, I love you. I love you, goodnight.

When was the last time you threw up?

I don't remember, thankfully.

Please please tell me now, is there something i should know?

I still love Duran Duran.

Guess how old you'll live to.

Still hoping for 90.

And on your gravestone it will say?

She died trying.

What is your greatest fear?

Same as last time: Apathy. Giving up. Being homeless. Losing a loved one

Who is your worst enemy?

Still me, of course.

What colour are your socks today?

None, I'm barefoot. It's fall but still hot here, we're in quarantine and I'm working from home so mostly I just wear flip-flops or sandals if I need to go outside.

Is fat a feminist issue or a three letter word?

I think it's both

What's your favourite colour of spaceship?

Still silver, I guess.

Tom Cruise's braces, 'go Tom!' or 'what a dork'?

Goodness, he still repulses me.

Fact or fiction?

Still both

Found it, found it and lost it, or still looking for it?

Obviously, still looking—always searching


sounds: Jose Gonzales- Stay Alive
words: Long Live the Tribe of Fatherless Daughters
i am: still wasting time

9:55 am - 24.09.20

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

it's not always going to be this grey - 01.11.20 - 12:01 pm

vote like a motherfucker - 20.10.20 - 8:43 pm

the year of our lord, 2020 - 10.10.20 - 11:51 am

and mom would stick a fork in daddy's shoulder - 07.10.20 - 11:05 am

wish me luck on sleeping - 28.09.20 - 3:58 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

achmardi
muppet23
jimbostaxi
andrew
silverluna
thruthecrowd
histamine
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
raven72d
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
u-saved-me
narcissa
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
linguafranca
gizzhead
veganfuckk
astralounge
ratherbored
oh-sweet-pea
boombasticat
gingeryette
but-whatever
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
nudeplatypus
myra-lee
jim515
soapboxdiner
mrs-roboto
widgetbitch
miserystar
allmadhere
inarticulate