-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

17 years or 17 seconds?

I thought about this place today, too. And you. And the friendships we forged back here in the early pre-social media days. I agree that we found a meaningful way to express our pain and, more importantly, to comfort here.
My archives page on here doesn't go that far back--though I could find the entries if I really wanted to. I don't know if I want to.

That day 17 years ago--I can't even begin to describe how I felt. I probably don't need to. It feels like a lifetime ago, and also just a few breaths past.
Everything, of course, is divided into 'then' and 'now'. Before and after.
I still remember the bright sun of the morning. C and I were in a fight. I drove to the co-op to get coffee. In the car on the radio the NPR news guy reported on a plane flying into the tower. Horrible, awful, but an accident. I went inside and got coffee. The world was OK. Normal. Everything the same as usual.
Then I got back in my car and the radio started playing again. Now the news man was reporting on another plane. Another tower.
I called C. and told him to turn on the TV, our fight forgotten.
Nothing was the same anymore.


I have students in my class who were barely toddlers when it happened. It's hard to fathom but I genuinely hope they never experience anything like it. Naive of me, I guess, given the wars and injustices across the world.

Naive, but I hope.

9:57 pm - 11.09.18

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

the candle is just ashes now - 26.10.18 - 4:33 pm

peak burnout right on cue - 10.10.18 - 7:20 pm

wondering if i'll ever bury the hatchet inside - 03.10.18 - 8:51 pm

remember to breathe (2018 edition) - 30.09.18 - 8:21 pm

you in that autumn sweater - 22.09.18 - 6:22 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
thruthecrowd
histamine
narcissa
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate
andrew