-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

you in that autumn sweater

First day of autumn and it is ... 93 degrees here. The weather flirted with fall last weekend, which was nice because I had a cold and it felt good to cuddle up on the couch with a blanket and a book. Now, though, we're back to the heat. The 10-day forecast says we may return to more seasonal temps soon. I certainly hope so. I'm craving that crispness in the air, the first rainstorm, the leaves drifting. Long-sleeved shirts, and boots that will give way to autumn sweaters and jackets--anything instead of this endless parade of sleeveless tops and sandals.

One-quarter of the semester and I feel as though I'm barely holding my own between the classes, the department chair stuff and the second job. I had a talk with the boss at the second job and it seems like they are no closer to finding someone than they were a month ago. Unless I really start to piss them off I think I'm there for at least another two months—which is great for paying off some debt but not so good for my sanity. The good thing is that I can pull back now and again when necessary--M keeps trying to rope me in for epic weekly meetings and unless they are very necessary I am flatly refusing. I don't need to be at every meeting. I'll do the weekly editorial and a few other key ones but there are so many things they don't need my voice or input on, especially if I'm not going to be around after the the first of the year. The joy of saying no to these meetings almost makes up for how exhausting the whole shebang has been. To be honest, I love being back in the newsroom and I wish I *could* do both jobs as a couple of friend have asked. But the reality is that both jobs are mentally consuming *and* require a lot of time and I just can't sustain this forever--and to be honest, the paper can't either.

But for the time being I'm happy to be able to pay down some bills *and* buy a few things for the house.

Tonight is a show for P's birthday. It's all cover bands, specifically requested by her and made up of friends. C is playing in a Ta1king Heads band and Angel Boy is doing AC/D*. Should be a blast.

6:22 pm - 22.09.18

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

so, so tired - 07.11.18 - 10:27 am

the candle is just ashes now - 26.10.18 - 4:33 pm

peak burnout right on cue - 10.10.18 - 7:20 pm

wondering if i'll ever bury the hatchet inside - 03.10.18 - 8:51 pm

remember to breathe (2018 edition) - 30.09.18 - 8:21 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
thruthecrowd
histamine
narcissa
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate
andrew