-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tiny failures every day, redux

Had a really lovely weekend with G. We signed up for this weirdly cheap writing workshop with Cheryl Str@yed that was part of a super-bougie yoga festival near Yosemite. Five hour drive to and from this gorgeous ski resort town where swarms of wholesomely fit and happy people roamed, armed with yoga mats and skis. The town is surrounded by snow-capped mountains and even in June people descended the slopes--from the road they looked like tiny play figures, gliding.

I had no idea what to expect but the workshop was actually pretty amazing even if G. and I noted that most of the other attendees were overwhelmingly blonde and clearly yoga-obsessed. We took refuge together, clad in all-black, sipping strong, bitter coffee, refusing to make new friends as we did writing prompts. Cheryl was funny and humble but not too humble--which was refreshing because, seriously, own it--and the whole thing helped kick my brain closer to writing again. I've also signed up for a six-month writing online workshop that starts next month and I'm excited to push myself with deadlines and feedback. I want to finish my YA novel but I also want to start writing about my strange but ordinary life. Every time someone says 'you should write about your life' I always think 'yeah, but I haven't done anything interesting, I've only had interesting things happen to me and there's a difference.' But this weekend's workshop clarified that this could be enough--if I can find the universal in the personal, if I can find a way to shine light and find meaning in a life made up of tiny failures every day.

11:14 am - 17.06.19

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

multitudes - 31.07.19 - 12:35 pm

to laugh at how you break - 22.07.19 - 11:45 am

put the key in the lock and turn .... - 09.07.19 - 8:08 pm

riptide - 27.06.19 - 10:30 am

build a little kindness in your bones - 19.06.19 - 8:40 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

dirtyboots
thruthecrowd
inarticulate
narcissa
histamine
veganfuckk
gizzhead
dangerspouse
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
sparkspark
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
ann-frank
colddigits
miralogue
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
mrs-roboto
nudeplatypus
miserystar
allmadhere
silverluna
widgetbitch
andrew