-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the routine of it all

Day one-millionth of quarantine. OK, maybe it's only seven-and-a-half weeks at this point? I'm keeping track by the number of weeks of school left (two-and-a-half!) and how long it's been since I've had a haircut (eight weeks this Wednesday!).

Mostly we are doing OK. C's job is solid for now and things might even be improving a bit with some new orders and re-opened businesses. My job is going as well as it can given the circumstances. Had a Zoom meeting with my dean today and some other professors who are also up for tenure in the fall. He assures us the process should continue in some form. He says, too, it's very likely we'll at least start the semester online.

And I'm fine with that. My allergies have been so bad lately and my asthma is flaring up to the point where I need to use an inhaler several times a day so, yeah, whatever it takes to stay healthy.

C and I are doing OK. A little bickering here and there--nothing out of the ordinary and pretty mild considering we've barely spent any time apart in the last two months. I think it helps that we still have this routine of working during the day in separate rooms. We see each other off and on during that time but we're also fairly focused. Beyond that, we try to give each other space when we can but we've also been enjoying nightly walks just to get fresh air and focused conversation time.

I am so very sad though. We both are. Depressed and anxious. We're managing it all OK but none of this feels normal despite the routine of it all.

I just want everything to be OK. I want a new president. I want to fast forward to Nov. 3 and have a grown-up put in charge. I only hope this country is smart enough to elect the right person this time.

2:39 pm - 01.05.20

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

the things that are still OK - 27.05.20 - 2:27 pm

girls like us are most perfect when we're biting off all of our finger nails - 21.05.20 - 3:14 pm

i could join the circus when they come to town - 15.05.20 - 5:41 pm

the good that won't come out, part 58 - 11.05.20 - 9:59 am

if i were brave - 07.05.20 - 8:56 am

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

andrew
jim515
narcissa
thruthecrowd
histamine
allmadhere
miserystar
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
dirtyboots
dangerspouse
birdandegg
veganfuckk
silverluna
u-saved-me
gizzhead
astralounge
ratherbored
oh-sweet-pea
boombasticat
gingeryette
but-whatever
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
widgetbitch
inarticulate