-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

some days are diamonds, some days are rocks

I am especially meh and depressed today and honestly I don't know why because today is just basically like every other day that's come before it...and, oh, yeah maybe that's it.

That's not quite true, though. Suddenly it feels like everything I am working on is coming to a head and I feel stressed and overworked and also meh and depressed because, well, 2020.

Right now a lot of things just feel pointless.

I know we have it good. I know I have it good.

Oh, but also: I lost the diamond from my engagement ring. It fell out of the setting at some point, probably over the weekend. I discovered it at Home-Fucking-Depot of all places as the palm of my hand brushed against the sharp prong of the setting.

I wanted to cry. We looked around the store, briefly, but needle and haystack and all that. I keep looking around the house, hoping to catch a glint of it out of the corner of my eye.

It wasn't a big diamond but it was from C's mom's own wedding set. His dad gave it to her when they were still in high school and secretly engaged.

That ring has been on my finger for years. YEARS.

Now, it's just the wedding band. C was less upset than I thought he would be--than he would have been if it had happened earlier in our relationship. Now, he wants to buy me a new ring and honestly it feels silly to spend money on something like that right now. But, also, my finger feels so bare, even with the wedding ring.

There's more to the story behind that ring, too. But I'll save that for another day.

What did the late, great Tom Petty once sing?

Some days are diamonds, some days are rocks.

Definitely a rock of a day.

Update: C. found the ring! Some 48 hours after I realized it was gone, he spotted it in the hallway on the runner, near the floor vent. I nearly cried with relief. It's not a big diamond, it's probably not worth a lot, but its sentimental value is priceless. We're going to have it set into a new ring; I may even create a new ring using my wedding ring and the old engagement band. Anyway. Very happy to have it back.

6:09 pm - 07.07.20

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

everything is a gamble - 27.07.20 - 2:45 pm

exile in what-the-fucksville - 22.07.20 - 12:54 pm

in which we go old-school with a list, just because - 20.07.20 - 7:01 pm

you and me till the wheels fall off - 18.07.20 - 1:36 pm

no one sees much of anyone these days - 11.07.20 - 3:53 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

andrew
jim515
narcissa
thruthecrowd
histamine
allmadhere
miserystar
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
dirtyboots
dangerspouse
birdandegg
veganfuckk
silverluna
u-saved-me
gizzhead
astralounge
ratherbored
oh-sweet-pea
boombasticat
gingeryette
but-whatever
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
widgetbitch
inarticulate