-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

everything is a gamble

I believe I mentioned this before but I am seriously considering getting another MFA.

Because of various life circumstances it would need to be a low residency, online option.

Currently in consideration: NYU, because it has an MFA in journalism. The program can be completed in five years for part-time students. It doesn't require any residency stays and is $10K cheaper than the other school I'm considering. It also falls 18 units shy of the extra units I'd need to bump up two pay grades in my current job, but I could make up those units at the community college level (and have actually already completed one so I would just need three more classes).

The other option is Goucher, which has an MFA in creative nonfiction. It is $10K more, but I would complete all the necessary units. I'm not sure of the time frame, but I do believe they have a part-time option. It does require two 10-day residencies each year, so that's an extra cost. Probably putting it at closer to $20K more. I do like its nonfiction track that focuses on book publishing.

Honestly, as long as I could navigate good financial aid options I'm not too worried about the cost because I would make that up with the salary increase and then some over the course of my life with my pension. Of course the nihilist in me does worry that I somehow lose my job and then am saddled with endless school loans. Everything is a gamble, right?

The main thing is I'm sort of aching to go back to school and I think once you set the cost aside, either program would be enriching, interesting and fun.

I do have a friend who did the Goucher program so I need to hit her up for some insight.

All of this and we've been talking seriously about moving in a few years. Same part of town probably, but we'd like just one more room so that we can each have a home office. Co-working from home these last few months has definitely made our place feel a bit cramped. That said we both still love the hell out of this house and if there was just a way to build on (there is not) then we'd probably do that.

All of which is to say that I every time I think life has settled it has, in fact, not.

2:45 pm - 27.07.20

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

fetch the bolt cutters - 07.08.20 - 2:24 pm

oh, sour grapes, because i lost my heart - 03.08.20 - 9:58 am

we were all so much younger once - 02.08.20 - 2:08 pm

in which we act like goddamned adults about things - 01.08.20 - 6:03 pm

140 days - 30.07.20 - 5:19 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

u-saved-me
muppet23
jim515
fuck--that
arajane
histamine
narcissa
dangerspouse
catsoul
dirtyboots
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
but-whatever
oh-sweet-pea
astralounge
boombasticat
gingeryette
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
mrs-roboto
nudeplatypus
miserystar
inarticulate
thruthecrowd
andrew
allmadhere
silverluna
widgetbitch