-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

under the zoom light

Got my classes posted/published and the semester's officially started. Only 17 weeks to go.

Of course I have too much to do today, much of it leftover from last week's list.

The to-do list:

*Week 1 emails to students
*Feedback for writers lab
*Finish freelance article
*Set up new laptop

We Zoomed last night with two other couples and it was nice but it's also just a piss-poor substitute for hanging out in person. I miss sitting at P's kitchen bar, holding out my wine glass for a refill, hugging R., catching C. out of the corner of my eye as he chats with B. or D.

I miss real life, not this tiny computer window version of it.

On that note I am grateful that I only have one Zoom class this semester. On the one hand, live lectures are more effective on the other hand Zoom is fucking exhausting in a way that standing in a classroom isn't. It's hard to explain. My colleague, D, is teaching almost entirely on Zoom (he teaches speech, so I get it) and, ugh...

Related, though, I did Zoom with a newish friend last week. She's a writer, too and our interests heavily overlap and we had a great conversation, each of us boxed away in our tiny window. At least we have Zoom. We'll always have Zoom.

Anyway, it's nearly September and here we still are.

I'll stop complaining now and get back to work but, once more with feeling: wear your goddamned masks and wash your hands.

2:01 pm - 23.08.20

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

17 years later - 24.09.20 - 9:55 am

we're all probably OK, I guess. - 21.09.20 - 5:21 pm

in which the cat is better but i'm still fucking sad about everything - 04.09.20 - 7:02 pm

of fluffs and purrs - 03.09.20 - 7:17 pm

some summers, they drop like flies - 30.08.20 - 1:31 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

jimbostaxi
muppet23
jim515
u-saved-me
silverluna
widgetbitch
narcissa
thruthecrowd
histamine
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
andrew
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
inarticulate
birdandegg
astralounge
veganfuckk
gizzhead
ratherbored
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
mrs-roboto
nudeplatypus
miserystar
allmadhere