-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

stick around, you might like it

Doing much better over here. It took about a week-and-half to really regain strength and not be so damn tired every second. I guess blood is critical to energy, who knew?

My bloodwork came back good--still a little low on a few markers but not alarmingly so.

Realized I never really shared what the procedure was--because, well. Anyway, it was a colonoscopy. My doctor recommended it because my biological mother died of colorectal cancer five years ago. With her death and then my adoptive mother's death (from lung cancer that spread to her brain and stomach) I really wanted to be proactive. P, my biomom never went to the doctor. Never, as in no preventative care for at least 15 years, which might have changed things. My adoptive mother, who was a nurse, did go to the doctor regularly. And yet her cancer went undetected until it was too late.

I had a follow-up on the colonoscopy last week. They had removed some polyps during the initial colonoscopy—the removal of which caused internal bleeding which, in turn, I made worse by taking ibuprofen.

The polyps, as it turns out, were pre-cancerous but 'low grade', which means they were abnormal and could turn into cancer if left untreated.

All of that means I am now on the three-year plan for another colonoscopy. Having just had two in one week, three years now seems like a luxury. Honestly, I'll do whatever I can to stick around on this goddamned planet for a while longer.

We socially distanced with some friends in their front yard as part of a drive-by holiday party of sorts and it was so nice to see them in person. I think I've convinced C. we need to get a little outdoor heat lamp of sorts so that we can have people over in the backyard this winter and not go completely feral in isolation.

7:36 pm - 19.12.20

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

fruitless complaints - 01.02.21 - 2:26 pm

at the storm's center - 28.01.21 - 8:23 pm

legal eagles - 25.01.21 - 9:08 pm

the hardest part is sleeping - 10.01.21 - 1:56 pm

new year, new headaches, new intentions - 04.01.21 - 8:43 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
browndamask
linguafranca
reddirtgirl
jimbostaxi
achmardi
muppet23
inarticulate
widgetbitch
jim515
u-saved-me
silverluna
andrew
thruthecrowd
narcissa
dangerspouse
histamine
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
birdandegg
fuck--that
sparkspark
gizzhead
veganfuckk
oh-sweet-pea
boombasticat
astralounge
ratherbored
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
miserystar
allmadhere