-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the hardest part is sleeping

So, everything is a fucking mess in this country. I do not understand how he is still in office after this. How. The. Fuck.

It's all surreal.

On the home front, of course, things just continue—which makes it all the more surreal in some ways.

One full week into this dry January thing (and no I didn't even have a drink on the day of the insurrection, though I promised myself I could do shots if they invoked the 25th) and mostly it's fine.

I say mostly because the hardest part is sleeping. Some nights I fall asleep quickly, other nights (like last night) I toss and turn. Every night, no matter what, I don't really hit a true sleep groove until at least 3 a.m.

That said, even on nights when the sleep is rocky, I still wake up feeling fairly rested. C. says he may stick with it beyond January. I may as well. We'll see. It's not that I'm trying to give up drinking, I'm just trying to be more intentional about it.

Oh, here's a funny thing: Somehow C. didn't notice for three years that this company started taking out health insurance dues even though he'd been on my plan for a year at that point. A whole three years he didn't notice! To the tune of nearly $300 a month! How! WTF!

Anyway, because there is a paper trail and it is their fault he is getting a refund check to the tune of nearly $10K. Otherwise I'd be furious at him.

How do you not notice? (This is all happened before we finally decided to use a joint checking account, otherwise you can bet your literal bottom dollar that I would have immediately noticed).

We're going to put the money toward a new car for him because he really needs one--and that's another story of frustration that I'll share another time.

I would be more frustrated but he's really trying right now--no drinking, getting more sleep, talking about eating healthier, etc. Baby steps and all that.

1:56 pm - 10.01.21

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

the pandemic wall is real - 03.03.21 - 6:11 pm

prelude to a reunion - 26.02.21 - 6:35 pm

fruitless complaints - 01.02.21 - 2:26 pm

at the storm's center - 28.01.21 - 8:23 pm

legal eagles - 25.01.21 - 9:08 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
browndamask
linguafranca
reddirtgirl
jimbostaxi
achmardi
muppet23
inarticulate
widgetbitch
jim515
u-saved-me
silverluna
andrew
thruthecrowd
narcissa
dangerspouse
histamine
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
birdandegg
fuck--that
sparkspark
gizzhead
veganfuckk
oh-sweet-pea
boombasticat
astralounge
ratherbored
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
miserystar
allmadhere