-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The $8.08 State

What a strange, strange week�.what with deaths and sicknesses (mine and GB�s), money woes and concerts and time spent with friends and schoolwork and lots of sleep and warmer-than-normal days and colder-then-normal nights�

I�m not going to bore you with a blow-by-blow account of the last week � in fact I�m not even going to run through the highs and lows�the thought just seems too tiring. I guess it�s suffice to say that I�ve barely been around a computer since last Wednesday (partially because I was out from work Thurs/Friday) and now, here on this sprawling Monday, I�m trying to figure out where to pick up the threads again.

I will share with you, however, the most recent of my money woes. Just because I feel like depressing the hell out of you.

I think it was Wednesday when I sat down and tried to figure out just exactly HOW much in debt I will be once I�m done with graduate school.

A rough ballpark figure put it at (cough) somewhere around $50K.

WTF?!?

That didn�t seem right.

So I started a frantic cycle of adding and re-adding and sorting and re-sorting.

You see, at $50K, my monthly school loan payments would be more than $350 a month for 25 years.

So, after much hand-wringing and head-shaking and calculator-pounding I got the number back down to $40K. That�s if I don�t get anymore scholarships and don�t save any money on my own.

Still kind of high though � still around $300 I think.

Which is way more than what I would ideally like to pay.

So, I�ve set about this new regime�the all Shivers Saving Plan which will, if I am faithful, not only pay off all of my credit cards by the end of the year but will give me $5K in the bank by next August.

If I save up $5K AND get a $5K scholarship � I will really be doing well.

This money doesn�t include the $3508.08 check I will pick up on Wed. This check is the remainder of my financial aid monies (meaning I have to pay it back). I will use $3000 of it towards tuition for my Fall 2004 semester (so that I don�t have to apply for financial aid for that year). I will put $500 in my regular savings account for emergencies.

I think I will blow the remaining $8.08 on cheap makeup or Hello Kitty tchotckes�I know, I know, very irresponsible of me � but call it my final cash blowout.

Anyway, if I succeed in saving up at least $5000 then that should knock my monthly payments down quite a bit.

I�m so sick of thinking about money but I really need to start watching all my impulse purchases and meals�.that�s what really gets me. If I could just exercise a little bit more self-control then I should be able to pay off my credit card balance AND save up mucho moola without any real problems.

If, if, if�

I�ve also decided to really clean out my CD collection. I have so much stuff that I NEVER listen to�stuff I like but don�t necessarily love. Stuff that�s just taking up a lot of space.

Stuff I could get cold hard cash for if I traded it in.

So I�ve been weeding through the racks and am hoping to make a trip to Amoeba soon. I�ll put the bulk of any cash I get into my savings account.

Maybe I should set up one of those Internet donation things? It worked for Save Karyn � why not a Save Shivers?

Just a thought.

In the meantime I'm really going to enjoy spending that $8.08...

1:23 pm - 02.10.03

sounds: Ais1ers $et
words: Lo1ita
i am: thinking about $$$

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate