-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

funny the difference a day makes

Everytime I think I am capable of pulling myself up and out of the slump something comes along to dampen the spirit...a war, the death of a friend....

Sometimes it's like there's very little you can do but scream at the top of your lungs and flail about in a circle until you fall down dizzy, breathless and spent.

That's what I'd like to do right now.

But instead it's business as usual. Work continues on and on and on...Going down to school today for a memorial for Amanda. Tomorrow night I'll try and finish 100 Years of So1itude. This weekend it will be time to move forward and celebrate at an engagement party for friends and a lighthearted Oscar party at the restaurant of another friend.

One thing A's death has reinforced for me - as have all the other deaths of friends and aquaintences these past few months - is there are no do-overs, no second chances, no putting-things-on-hold.

I'd been coming up with all these reasons for why I don't have time to exercise or write...but if not now, then when? I don't want there to not be a when...I just want to do this stuff.

I spent some time writing this weekend and will do some more either tomorrow or Thursday night. I got out and rocked the blocks with Sony discman this weekend and this morning. There is little that is more life-affirming than the crisp early morning air...

More thoughts from the bright(er) side of life:

GB and I had a nice weekend together. I took Friday off from work and we went out car shopping. Actually we just went to one place; a friend of ours works for a Honda dealer and I got a very nice deal on a 2003 Civic...two-door silver coupe. With an ultra-low interest rate (1.9 percent) I was able to keep my payments where I wanted them. As I was signing away my life our friend asked if I wanted to say goodbye to my old car, the beast...I told him no, there was no emotional attachment there.

I've already named the new car Liz - after you-know-who....

Sunday we went to go see "The $afety of Objects" - a good film but not great...it's based on a book of short stories and I don't think the filmmaker was successful in linking all the stories together....

.... Halfway through the semester, only two-and-a-weeks until I get a week-long break from work....I think I can do this...

3:49 pm - 03.18.03

sounds: The B1ood Brothers
words: Wonder When You'11 Miss Me
i am: wondering about life and death and everything in between

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate