-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's almost Christmas ...

Such strange, strange times we're living in. At least we're living, I guess. But reading reports of how close we could really be to a war with N. K0rea is upsetting to say the least. I complain about gray hairs and wrinkles and a frustratingly slow metabolism but I really would like to get older. I'd like to settle into old age with (relative) grace. I'd like to see my nieces and nephews get older. I'd like this planet to be there for them. Every time I read the news, though, I worry about what we're leaving for them. Flood and famine, fires and fury and so so much injustice.

I wish someone would cut off T's tongue and thumbs. No talking, no tweeting, please. I'm really not even joking at this point.

I understand your nostalgia, I really do. There's a sliver of my life--age 27-29--that is preserved in amber in my mind. So many songs and books and fleeting slants of light that bring me back to a time when everything felt so alive (even when it hurt) and ripe with possibility. Maybe that's what's hardest about aging--the fear of losing possibility? No, there are other things, too, but that's definitely near the top ...

I really do want you to write and I'm so very interested in the words and legacy you leave for A. I feel such respect and awe when I read about your adventures in motherhood (for lack of a better term). It serves to make me sad about having missed out on that in my life*, but also grateful to have friends who carry the load of raising children who will make this world a better place.

*I say that not to make you feel awkward but rather it's just a content, truthful sentiment (if that makes sense). I appreciate your honesty about parenting.

Anyway, week two was perhaps a little easier--some odd red tape annoyances but I'm quickly learning that's just part of being on a college campus. For the most part my students seem great and I have good support in some of my colleagues and I know the campus a bit better than I did last semester (no getting lost this semester, yet). Of course don't think for a second that I'm not counting off the days until winter break ("It's almost Christmas," is a mantra in my head, too) because believe me I am. Oh, am I ever.

1:07 pm - 04.09.17

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

We all float on - 20.09.17 - 10:14 am

work, work, work - 18.09.17 - 7:59 pm

Make it Work (Fuck the Haters) - 12.09.17 - 8:37 pm

there goes the sun - 10.09.17 - 9:13 pm

We could send letters ... - 07.09.17 - 9:46 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

histamine
secret-motel
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
raven72d
narcissa
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate