-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

you can't feel the beat if you don't take the heat

I hate it when the interns at work dress better than I do. The new one in our department is wearing a sea-green silk dress, ivory brocade swing coat (lightweight) and kittenish Sex in the City type shoes. Hair pulled up in some sort of casually tousled rendition of a bun.

She is dressed for Success. She is dressed for Style.

Me?

I�m dressed for just getting my ass here and making a decent showing.

All black actually. Black sleeveless top, black cropped pants. Black sandals. Black is easy to pull together � minimum effort required at 7 in the morning. Never mind the wisdom of my decision to choose an all-black wardrobe on what just may turn out to be the hottest day of the year.

.I remember when I used to make a big deal about what I wore to work. Usually vintage �50s and �60s dresses, occasionally vintage �40s suits. Silk vintage blouses, groovy flared pants and impossibly high-heeled boots. Or clompy Mary Janes or uncomfortable vintage shoes.

I still have and wear the clompy Mary Janes�.but the rest of it? What little I have left from those days is tucked into a corner of my closet.

What happened to me?

I mean, I don�t think I look like a slob � but have I lost any sense of style I may have once had?

Eh, who really cares, right?

Not me�.I just feel a tad wistful and nostalgic, that�s all�thinking back to those days when I was 25, underpaid and overly hopeful. Anyway, it just makes it more fun to dress up for evening (or other special) outings.

I actually got a half-way decent night of sleep last night � first time in how long? I had many fierce dreams and woke up feeling kind of drugged�.probably due to allergies. This heat�s gonna make it a killer air index today � of the wear-a-mask variety.

Oh and in case you wanted to know�I think I�m giving up on people again. At least for now.

GB and I are in a fight. Friends are flaking out on me. Drivers are cutting me off and people on the phone are being snippy.

Feh.

At least my boss just came up and told me she really liked my latest project.

Oh and at least I have new music to keep me company. Took some CDs down to Amoeba on Haight yesterday � best damn record store EVER � and traded them in for some new ones plus cash.

This is what I walked away with

  • I am the World Trade Center - Tight Connection
  • Archer Prewitt- Three
  • Sonic Youth � Murray Street
  • Joseph Arthur � Real World

Oh yeah - and at least I have Alejandro Escovedo to look forward to.

Sometimes it seems as if music is my only friend.

12:02 pm - 07.09.02

sounds: I am the World Trade Center - Tight Connection
words: Wired magazine
i am: feeling anti-everything

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate