-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

have you never been mellow?

Essentially, I am refusing to be productive today. It's been a long week and I worked late yesterday on a last-minute assignment. I also had to sit through a two-hour "future of our industry" meeting in a highly paid consultant finally convinced the editors there that online is the way to go. This feat caused the Second Top Editor to send out an urgent memo (following said meeting) urging us all to explore our online options. Sigh. Where have these people been the last five years? The last 10 years?

Anyway. I very seriously considered calling in sick today because I am just so burned out on work and life in general but it's promising to be cooler today - in regard to the weather, not management - and I plan to take advantage of that with a long lunch. Maybe some mindless shopping. Or perhaps I'll take a book to the park and read. Also, I'll devote time to organizing things at my desk and generally uncluttering my little work existance. Yes, that'll do me some good.

Also, I am listening to the new S0n Vo1t and it's mostly kind of mellow so far, but that's OK.
.
.
.
On some levels the new house is extraordinarily fun and rewarding - all that space! so clean and fresh! new furniture and tchotkes! But it's also exhausting. We're only about 50 percent unpacked; after the frenzy of packing and moving and getting the essentials into place we've now slowed to a crawl. At this point we are strictly unpacking boxes on a need-to-use-a-particular-item basis - i.e., 'where's the tape measure?' 'oh, in a box, I think I know which one, I'll get it."

Because really, with this brutal heat - even with our AC - all I want to do is read and watch B1ow Out and go to movies (Me & Y0u & Everyone We Know is my recommendation to you. Next on our list: March of the Pengu1ns....)

At this point we should be completely unpacked by, oh, next July. Thank goodness we have a garage.

Our schedule is so busy, and will only be even busier come August, that it's taking all the effort we have to do our yardwork. Wow, that big lawn really seemed like a good idea before we moved in. Actually, we just need to get the automatic sprinklers upgraded and fixed and things will be much better.

Oh goodness I'm boring everyone - and me most of all - with yard talk. I promise not to discuss my upcoming Costco trip.

Feh.

Tonight: Picking up the keys to Angel Boy's house so that I can watch the cat while he and C go to Vegas. For the time I will, at the very least I will live vicariously through my friends' adventures.

10:50 am - 07.28.05

sounds: S0n Vo1t
words: Everything is 1lluminated
i am: feeling the effects of the dog days of summer

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate